Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Turned out good but not great, I baked for only 15 mins and it was still on the verge of being overdone, has a slight burnt taste to it, Not enough to throw it away but if i had done 17-20 mins this definately would have went in the garbage. I cooked the candy in a pyrex mesuring cup which made it easy to pour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I'm so ashamed I doubted AR reviewers - I continually thought to myself (while prepping) "these aren't going to work ... I just wasted a stick of butter...", Shame shame shame on me. I used a small square baking sheet that came with my toaster oven which only held 20 crackers. Used 1/2 cup each of butter & brown sugar and coated each cracker with a spoon (for fear of them turning soggy). Parchment paper on sheet - Baked @ 350 for 8", then opened oven door for remaining 2'. Turned off heat to oven and let the chips sit on top for apx a minute, then back into the still warm oven for a final minute. They turned out nice and crispy with no burnt edges. TYSM for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Let me be just another person to say I never would have tried this if it weren't for all the rave reviews--and I'm so glad I did! This is fast, easy, delicious, has almost no cleanup, and is so customizable! I usually end up adding a bit more brown sugar, and I only leave them in the oven for 12-13 minutes (until the caramel starts to bubble) or else I sometimes get burned patches (not edible!) I've made these with white chocolate and green candy melts with crushed peppermint for Christmas parties, milk chocolate and sliced almonds for anniversary parties, swirled white and dark chocolate with peanuts on top for kid's parties--you can't go wrong with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
When I saw this recipe, it struck a chord as something one of the moms at school baked for a bake sale that FLEW off the table. I decided to try it. OH MY HEAVENS! It was as good as I remembered. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Fabulous! I made mine on graham crackers and did have to change the topping up a bit. I didn't have chocolate chips so instead I used a mixture of white choc chips and peanut butter chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Super easy and delicious! I almost always have these ingredients around so this will be a staple now for parties and might add to my Christmas baking. I followed directions almost exactly. Left in oven for about 11 minutes and watched carefully. Since I had semi sweet chocolate chunks, I put the pan back in the oven for a minute or two after sprinkling them on since they were bigger. Never thought saltines could be a base for something so yummy! Thanks for a new favorite recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blythe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made these yesterday for a party we were having. I left them in the kitchen while we were having appetizers and 1 person ate 1/3 of these. Everyone wanted the recipe. O my God! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very easy and relatively inexpensive to make. Quite tasty, too! I will definitely be trying out different toppings when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bananapeel88

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
These are a huge hit as a dessert/candy nibbler, definetly can't too eat much at one time though. Use a baking dish with sides as otherwise they will bubble over into the oven (I learned the hard way). A bit greasy which I think is from spraying the dish first with Pam....any suggestions on this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
super easy & yummy! Great for parties or gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States