Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Wow, these were surprisingly great. And they are so versatile. I made some with white chocolate and almonds and put a little cinnamon in the butter sugar mixture. The were delicious as x-mas treats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Baked 11-13 minutes at 325 degrees F, so as to not burn them. Added extra pecans. Not bad, but something is missing... I tried it a second time and added a little Nutella to the chocolate coating for a nuttier flavor, however with this batch I used vegetable oil spread instead of butter- DON'T DO IT. If you're like me and trying to cut calories in your cooking, I understand, but this recipe really needs butter. My brittle turned out gooey and like caramel that will forever be stuck in your teeth. If you do make the same mistake I did, store the brittle in the freezer in between indulgences! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanne033

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I didn't really like this. It's very sweet and the crackers inside seem to have absorbed the butter and are greasy. It was easy to make, but I wouldn't do it again. I also think the caramel needed to cook more before pouring over the crackers, I usually do it on the stove and I think that method works a lot better than the microwave, even if it takes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I did use graham crackers as some others did just because I had them. I cooked this on the stove top rather than the microwave since my microwave is unpredictable. Then I only had to cook it for 10 minutes in the oven. I left off the chocolate chips and it tasted great without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great easy recipe for holiday parties. I have made them twice now and are giving them away as holiday gifts in a plastic bag with xmas ribbon. I also used crushed almonds. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Super easy! Super sweet! I'm renaming this "Poor Mans Brittle Surprise"! Perfect low cost delish desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!*******!!!!!!!!!******* This is all I ever want to make for Christmas from now on! I melted my butter and dark brown sugar on stove. Easier for me to do so! This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This brittle is the best and easy to make - my son and grandchildren keep asking for more. I did replace the soda crackers with Cinnamon Graham Crackers and loved it. Be careful with the time in the oven - mine was done in 10 minutes and already bubbling. It would have burned if I didn't check it early. Otherwise, awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leander, Texas, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States