Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This recipe was sooooo awesome and simple! I followed the directions to a T except I didn't have a full cup of brown sugar so I added about 1/8 cup of white sugar. I used about one entire sleeve or pkg of saltines and had a little room left in the pan so I threw about 4 graham crackers on, since others had said they like that, too. I carefully microwaved per the directions; stirring every 30 seconds because someone else said that was very important. The butter/brown sugar recipe seemed to separate after nuking. I stirred and stirred but it didn't completely come together so I was a little worried. My oven runs quite hot so I lowered my temp to 325 and only baked for 12 mins. I saw it bubbling and didn't want it to burn so I took it out then. I was having trouble spreading my choc chips so I sprayed the back of a spatula and then was able to press/spread the chocolate more easily. I then sprinkled some macadamia nuts on top and placed in the fridge. When I broke the brittle a lot of the nuts fell off so I wished I had patted them down a little before refridgerating. Next time I'll know better! This was just so yummy and I really couldn't tell the difference between the grahams and saltines. Even my mom said it was super and she's super critical of everything! I'm going to make this as gifts because it's a guarantee homerun! Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Delishisly addicting. Easy & fast to make if you have 15 minutes before people come over you can have them baking. They do slide like crazy though.. use a pan with edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I LOVE this recipe!! It's soooo simple to make! I leave the nuts off and always use saltine crackers. I saw where others have used graham crackers but I love most, the salty crackers with all the sugar and chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Awesome! Very easy too!! I dipped each cracker in the sugar mixture to assure even coating. I used 1 cup semi sweet and 1 cup milk choc chips. Watch closely in the oven to be sure they don't overcook. These hold up reallly well in the fridge for a couple weeks. I tried a second batch with graham crackers- NO WAY! The saltines are sooooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Wow...I was meaning to make this soon, and a friend beat me to it. Great Sweet & Salty treat. Hers had sliced almonds on it. I can't wait to try this myself with pecans. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I loved the way these turned out, but I did have a problem with the mixture spilling over into my oven whenI baked them, I will not use a cookie sheet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The best thing I ever I ate and soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! This is so good. I used unsalted butter which makes this dessert turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious and easy! To ensure that the sugar and butter are fully combined before pouring over crackers, they may require a little additional time in the microwave. Also, I wish I knew the importance of using a cookie tray with raised edges/lips before baking these - I ended up with a LOT of burnt butter and sugar on the bottom of my oven, and a very smoky kitchen. oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I have tried a couple variations of this recipe, and this is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States