Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
To Die For! I followed the recipe exactly, except cooked the mixture in the oven for 15 minutes, and it was perfect! I wouldn't double the topping; the actual recipe yields thin, crispy bites of heaven. More topping would make it too rich, IMHO. If your brown sugar and butter are not combining well in the microwave, just keep stirring; they will combine by the end of the 2 minutes. UPDATE: I made this again, and discovered that if you don't use a pan in which the crackers fit snugly, the sugar/butter base will spread too thin and may burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was the easiest and best received dessert at Thanksgiving this year! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe :) Tip - crackers were done baking in 12 - 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are really sweet and they do make a lot. I love sweet things, but these were average to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wow, this is one of the easiest things I've ever made, and it's so freaking good! I used walnuts and graham crackers, cooked butter/sugar on the stove, and cooked in the oven only maybe 7 minutes. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Great! I, too, used salted crackers. I made an easy recipe easier: I melted the butter and sugar, then added the chocolate chips, stirred until smooth, AND added the broken crackers (about 50 in all)- mixed it all together, spread it out on a foil lined tray. Didn't bother to spray the foil - not necessary. The pan is in the fridge now and I've been sampling. Delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used regular honey graham crackers, and no nuts (my kids won't eat them). I followed advice of others and only baked it 13 minutes. This is amazing... It will become a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M n J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Pretty yummy! However, the bake time is WAY too long. I cut the time to about 10 minutes and the bottom was still burnt. I'll try it again and lessen the time in the oven even more, turn the oven down to 325 too, maybe until just bubbly. Thanks for the great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a good quick dessert and better with graham crackers as others have said. In my oven it's ready in about 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Holy moly! This was very tasty and very easy. I put the crackers in 6x7 rows just to fill up the pan, but left the rest of the measurements the same, except eyeballing the chocolate chips. So yummy, and I had everything on hand. Just a note, I whisked the butter and brown sugar every 30 seconds, and cooked it for only 1 min 30 seconds as it smelled like it was about to burn. Keeping an eye on the power of your microwave and oven is a good idea. My oven runs hot so I cooked this batch for less than 10 minutes on 325. Gotta watch this stuff. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a very good recipe! Can't keep it around for very long at our house that's for sure! I also have a similar recipe that uses a box of graham crackers, 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, and 1 cup chopped pecans. Layer a cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray foil with cooking spray. Place crackers onto p. paper or foil, close together but not on top of each other. Melt butter in small pan, add sugars, bring to a boil and stir every 30 seconds for about 2 to 2.5 minutes - judge carefully as this mixture can burn quickly! Pour butter/sugar mixture over crackers, add pecans, pressing them lightly into crackers. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. With a box of graham crackers, I typically get 3 cookie sheets full! Amazing with saltines too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States