Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought this was a little greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I must have looked at this recipe a dozen times before deciding to make it. So glad I did...It is so good! I found that using a wisk the last time I stirred it really combined the butter and brown sugar well. Also 15 minutes in the oven worked perfectly for me. I just kept checking it after 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So, so, easy and so many compliments! I put in the freezer, took out while still on the foil, peeled foil off and it easily broke into bite size pieces. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
First off, DO NOT substitute margarine for the butter! The water content in most margarines will not work in this recipe. Also, I had to microwave for about 3 minutes after I added the sugar to get it fully combined with the butter. I also used 40 crackers and had plenty of topping. (They were also salted because it's what I had.) This candy is the bomb! It was easy and so yummy I can't stay out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. I use Saltines, or the closest thing we have to that here in China. Also, we don't have chocolate chips here, so I used the equivalent amount of a dark chocolate candy bar. My oven is really small, so I put half of the saltines on a small cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and then did half of the butter and sugar to pour on top. Then, when that was finished baking, I did the rest of the butter and sugar and then baked that one. I found that 15 minutes was about right. I put toasted almonds on one half, and toasted coconut on the other. Any number of toppings would be great. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wonderful! Only took about 13 minute in my oven. Turned out perfectly. Tried a couple variations from other reviews and my favorite was milk chocolate chips with almonds. Only used 1/2 cup nuts and it was perfect. Mixed them in with the chocolate chips as suggested by another reviewer and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Yummy! This was really good! I followed the recipe exactly how it was written. I found that using parchment paper instead of foil works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have been using allrecipes for a few years now but this is the first time I have rated a recipe. I found this recipe just before Thanksgiving and just put two more batches in the fridge to cool. My family loves this and it is sooo quick and easy to make, it nevers fails. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
So easy and so good. I did not follow the recipe and went by the reviews that said more butter and sugar. I think I would like it better with less and next time I will follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I would have given it 4 stars because of the MESS it made, but everyone did love the final outcome which is why I had to give it the max. A few things - 1.) After cooking the brown sugar and butter, I let it cool and thicken. (I didn't do this on the first batch and it was a DISASTER - ran down into the bottom of the oven!) 2.) Use a tray with a "lip" or a "jellyroll pan" ... this helped keep the crackers in place and the sugar/butter mixture contained in the oven. 3.) Graham crackers and Club crackers are thicker than soda crackers. This helped. The batch I made w/ soda crackers were soggy. I did have to make a few times before figuring it all out, but the final outcome was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States