Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
A lady i work with makes this often...it is amazing. i'm going to have to get the recipe she uses and give this another try. Using this recipe mine turned out grainy and greasy. Bummer :( But...i still ate it...lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Mine burned using 17 mins at 350 degrees as per the recipe. Will try another version of this recipe on this site--there's plenty to choose from. Ruined a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Can't get over how such a simple recipe makes a candy delicious enough to give as gifts! I just made up three batches in about an hour and I have enough for about 18 presents. I put approx. 10 pieces in a cellophane bag, tied with ribbon and attached a personalized to/from sticker with our family holiday picture on it. I used Club crackers as someone on here recommended, baked for 12-15 minutes, and it came out amazing! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
So easy. So easy. So easy. So good! I used graham crackers as suggested, halved the recipe and also baked for 13 minutes which was slightly too long. Next time I will only cook it for 11 minutes. I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought this was a little greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I must have looked at this recipe a dozen times before deciding to make it. So glad I did...It is so good! I found that using a wisk the last time I stirred it really combined the butter and brown sugar well. Also 15 minutes in the oven worked perfectly for me. I just kept checking it after 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So, so, easy and so many compliments! I put in the freezer, took out while still on the foil, peeled foil off and it easily broke into bite size pieces. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
First off, DO NOT substitute margarine for the butter! The water content in most margarines will not work in this recipe. Also, I had to microwave for about 3 minutes after I added the sugar to get it fully combined with the butter. I also used 40 crackers and had plenty of topping. (They were also salted because it's what I had.) This candy is the bomb! It was easy and so yummy I can't stay out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. I use Saltines, or the closest thing we have to that here in China. Also, we don't have chocolate chips here, so I used the equivalent amount of a dark chocolate candy bar. My oven is really small, so I put half of the saltines on a small cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and then did half of the butter and sugar to pour on top. Then, when that was finished baking, I did the rest of the butter and sugar and then baked that one. I found that 15 minutes was about right. I put toasted almonds on one half, and toasted coconut on the other. Any number of toppings would be great. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wonderful! Only took about 13 minute in my oven. Turned out perfectly. Tried a couple variations from other reviews and my favorite was milk chocolate chips with almonds. Only used 1/2 cup nuts and it was perfect. Mixed them in with the chocolate chips as suggested by another reviewer and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States