Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
OMG.....These are amazing. Didnt use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Too much butter and it came out like caramel. Instead, I did 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup brown sugar over stove on medium heat for 3-4 minutes (don't let boil), and used 24 crackers in 9x13 pan. I used dark chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Overall, this recipe was good. My best advice would be to make sure you use as many saltines as it takes to fill the pan. I left gaps between mine and it was too sticky without the cracker. The parts WITH the cracker were really yummy! I will make this next year, but I'll make sure to not have any gaps! Also, a lot of the pecans on top fell off when I broke this apart....so, unless you incorporate them into the sugar mixture, I wouldn't even bother with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I think I made 5 batches of this stuff for Christmas this year. I varied it for each batch. The favorite was to melt a 10oz bag of crushed heath candies and a half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Also used white chips and crushed candy cane for one batch and that turned out well also! Thanks for a very easy brittle recipe ShanaLee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Topel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very addictive...I melted the brown sugar and butter on the stove. Then I used dark chocolate and mint chips, plus the nuts and white chocolate chips for a very delicious treat. Bake for 10-12 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These are surprisingly good- but extremely sweet so you can't eat to many (or shouldn't :-). While making them you don't really expect them to come out because it's a bit of a strange recipe (salted crackers topped with sweet ingredients and baked!) but they do!!! It's fun to make and break apart and into uneven shapes. A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used graham crackers like other reviewers suggested. I used dark chocolate chips and almonds on top. This was yummy. I would have given it 5 stars if the recipe had included some direction on temperature the sugar/butter mixture should reach in the oven. I removed mine from the oven a little too soon and it never set up completely. Next time, I'll do it on the stove, and wait until the mixture reaches maybe 250?? degrees and then pour it over the crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Fast, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
***Caution*** Very, very addictive. Everyone loved it! I would recommend only cooking for about 13-15 minutes. I think it would have burned if I cooked it more. 14 was perfect for me. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryallweighs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I used graham crackers instead of the soda crackers because that is what I had and it turned out delish!! I couldn't believe crackers could be so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States