Chocolate Brittle Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was very good, I did alter it a little, that is why I gave it a 4 star instead of a 5 star. This is what I did, first of all make sure that when you melt the butter & sugar after each 30 second interval you stir it well & at the last 30 second ( 2 minute mark ) you stir all the butter into the sugar to make your caramel. This is time consuming but well worth it if you do not want your caramel to break. Also for the amount of caramel I was able to use 52 crackers & I probably could have made even more, but I just piled it on. I used a wooden spoon to get a nice smooth texture. For my oven they baked 6 minutes @ 350. Instead of semi sweet chocolate, I used 2 cups of real good milk chocolate & I microwaved until it was nice & creamy, then I added 1 teaspoon of baking cocoa powder. I smoothed it on the crackers with a wooden spoon & topped it all off with crushed walnuts & cracked sea salt. Now I have to say they are 5 star. I gave them to some of my friends & they could not tell they were made with saltines. Smoothing on the layers makes a big difference. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaapr68

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Delicious both ways (graham crackers or saltines). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishgirlalbany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
if you use white sugar it makes it crunchier on the bottom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Shattuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I used to make this years ago and forgot about it. So glad I found a recipe for it once again, it's a great party treat and is gone before you know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have been making this for years. I call it chocolate crack. If you don't cook the sugar for the right amount of time it will be chewy, not crisp. I have even used less butter and it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hulsey Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Look at this ....I made this recipe today and it is quick and simple. Tasted good. I did change two things. I used Lightly salted matzo crackers. I used 6 of them. I broke them up first instead of at the end. When it says to add brown sugar and the butter I did that . & I added about 3/4 cup chocolate chips when the butter is melted with the brown sugar. Microwave every 30 seconds stir for a total 2 minutes. After melted poured over pieces put in oven like abov until it's bubbling good. With another 1/2 to 3/4 c more of melted chocolate chips. Pull pans out and pour over top. Place nuts on top put back in oven for about 5 minutes. ( I used crushed cashews). It's done ! Thank you for the idea It looks the same as picture above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is an amazing recipe... We make it every year! I call it Christmas Crack! I disappears about as fast as I can make it! I love taking it to parties and people don't believe that it has saltines in it. Love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was fantastic! Easy to make too. I also added ground sea salt to my second batch. Will be including this in goodie bags for friends and teacher holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUIW
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Followed to the T, with the exception of cooking the butter and sugar on the stove instead of in the microwave. Otherwise, just keep an eye when it's in the oven so it doesn't burn. Used pecans, and was a perfect treat! Also makes a big batch, so it's good to give away as gifts for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States