Chocolate Bread Pudding with Bourbon Pecan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The sauce was excellent. The pudding was good but maybe needed more chocolate flavor or some apples or something. I will certainly make this again with some modification
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I made this for a Cajun dinner party and it was a huge hit. Like others, I added some chocolate chips and pecans to the pudding. You do need to let the bread & custard mixture sit a while before baking, to let it really soak in. The caramel sauce was very good, but a little runny for my personal taste - I added some butter, salt, more cream and more bourbon to give it more ooomph, but next time, I'll just use another caramel sauce recipe that I like better. We just ate it at room temp and everyone loved it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was decadent and rich. I added chocolate chips--yum--but did think the sauce was (while cool to make) a bit too sweet. The combination of the super rich sauce and the super rich pudding was maybe just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for work and was not able to make the sauce but the bread pudding was stil great. There was even someone who does not like bread pudding a lot said she liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This dish is heavenly! I halved the recipe, using a 9"X9" dish instead. Since I didn't have the chocolate squares on hand, I used a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips instead. The only change that I would make is to the caramel sauce, I would omit the bourbon, just a personal preference. Very rich and chocolately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Delicious bread pudding! I didn't make the sauce, and I used only whole milk in the pudding. Turned out great, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I made this to bring to a family party, and it was kind of a last-minute decision. I'd never made bread pudding before, so I wasn't sure what to expect for results. But THIS was a winner. We had a loaf of really nice walnut sourdough bread from our CSA that we needed to use up, so that was the basis for this dish. I didn't make any changes to the recipe other than adding a little more chocolate than was called for (an ounce seemed too little). I poured the sauce over the top of the bread pudding when it came out of the oven so that I could transport it all together, we drove an hour to the party, and it was another three or four hours before we touched this, and yet it was still warm. People RAVED about this. It was seriously the hit of the party. Even people who claimed to have aversions to bread pudding liked this, and everyone asked for the recipe. It may not be healthy, but a little bit goes a long way and it's sure to be a crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is a very rich pudding. It has been a favorite of my family and friends for some time. The sauce is my favorite. I like making a big recipe so there are leftover for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This bread pudding was so tasty! Definitely takes a lot of time to prepare, but is well worth the effort. For those who don't care for bourbon, it does cook out and the flavor isn't extremely strong (in my opinion anyway) but it most definitely adds more depth than serving the pudding on its own. The pudding is great, the pudding served with the sauce is out of this world. A new favorite, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States