Chocolate Bread Pudding with Bourbon Pecan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This pudding tasted good, but it is time consuming to make it. I also think that it called for a little too much bread because my pudding turned out pretty dry. I will make it again because my husband loved it, but next time I will add less bread and watch it more closely while it is in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
My husband requested bread pudding so I tried this recipe and he loved it. I used Southern Comfort instead of bourbon. He wants me to make this for Thanksgiving instead of pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYBAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
People were asking to take some of this home with them. I added the bourbon earlier in the instructions in order to reduce the strength of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I have sad this same recipe for several years and recently lost it. I was excited to find it hear. It is always a favorite. The only negative is that is time consuming, but well worth it. It is great for special occassions and dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
When we had eaten our fill, I poured the remaining sauce over the leftovers and put it in the fridge. The leftovers were even better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Make this fabulous, rich dessert only if you have at least 30 minutes to dedicate to it. The caramel sauce requires a watchful eye, because your sugar-water-cream mix takes about ten minutes to become a caramel, but once it does, it will quickly harden into a hard sugar coating on the bottom of your pan if you've not removed it from the heat. But the result is worth the time!! Another reviewer said that she found the dessert dry. To avoid this, simply let the bread cubes sit in the pudding mix for more than 30 minutes, thereby soaking up more of the chocolate pudding. Use the time to fix supper, take a shower, or reverse the directions on the recipe: make the pudding first, and then make the caramel sauce while the Challah bread cubes soak in the pudding. The only modification I make to this recipe is that I cook it for almost an hour, instead of 45 minutes, and I ALWAYS let it sit for at least 10 minutes before serving because the dessert is quite souffle-like and will cave in if it does not sit for a while. Fortunately, it is equally delicious both warm and at room temperature, so don't hesitate to make it early. The rich, buttery sauce is complimented by dark coffee and by a nice whisky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Wonderful recipe - will definetly make again. The pudding was perfect consistency - thick and rich. Altered the sauce recipe a bit - substituted dark rum for the bourbon and omitted the pecans. Called it "hot buttered rum sauce"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Whole family enjoyed it. After it was in the pan I added a few handfuls of chocolate chips on top because the pudding didn't taste chocolatey enough. The chips helped, but next time I think I will reduce the amount of bread I used (3/4 lb) and increaes the amount of chocolate. I used 1% milk instead of whole, and the pudding was still rich. Will definitely make again, and will use the leftover pecan carmel sauce on icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for New Year's Eve since my husband said it was his all-time favorite dessert. Oh My!!! This was the best thing I've ever eaten...ever! That sentiment has been repeated by everyone who was lucky enough to sample Saturday's fare. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate morsels sprinkled on top of the pudding before baking. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Omigosh! This is a truly decadent dessert. Worth every minute of your time and effort! I received rave reviews with many wanting a second serving in spite of the calories.Thanks Jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States