Chocolate Bread Pudding with Bourbon Pecan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this for the first time Thanksgiving 08. It was the rave. It was so good people ate it without the Bourbon sauce. The sauce was excellent by the way. I'll make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIP1UP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I like another reviewer added more chips on the top for an even more chocolately flavor. I have also made it with cinnamon raisin bread. Pretty tasty also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is the best Chocolate Bread Pudding. The recipie seemed daunting when read but was really simple once I got started. The sauce turned out perfect with good ole Jack Daniels and some Amaretto. It was really pretty with the pecans. The bread pudding was so moist and just the perfect amount of chocolate. I can see why chocolate lovers would add chocolate morsels to the top, but to stay true to a bread pudding taste, I don't think there is anything that needs to be changed with this recipie. Thanks SO much. A great fall dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThreebyFiver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I thought this was good, but mine did not turn out as fabulous as others. I used a bit less bread, as some talked about, but I felt the pudding was too squishy in the middle when served. It didn't have any texture, just sort of sponge-like. Next time I would prepare exactly as instructed. I also had a hard time getting all the bread and pudding to fit into a 9x13 pan, and would not try to make it all fit. Finally, I didn't feel the caramel sauce was worth the effort. Sorry, but it was no better than a jar of Dove caramel sauce, and next time I wouldn't bother with that. Overall a good recipe, and well received, but not super out of this world. Will try again though, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Omigosh! This is a truly decadent dessert. Worth every minute of your time and effort! I received rave reviews with many wanting a second serving in spite of the calories.Thanks Jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for New Year's Eve since my husband said it was his all-time favorite dessert. Oh My!!! This was the best thing I've ever eaten...ever! That sentiment has been repeated by everyone who was lucky enough to sample Saturday's fare. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate morsels sprinkled on top of the pudding before baking. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Smith
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Whole family enjoyed it. After it was in the pan I added a few handfuls of chocolate chips on top because the pudding didn't taste chocolatey enough. The chips helped, but next time I think I will reduce the amount of bread I used (3/4 lb) and increaes the amount of chocolate. I used 1% milk instead of whole, and the pudding was still rich. Will definitely make again, and will use the leftover pecan carmel sauce on icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Wonderful recipe - will definetly make again. The pudding was perfect consistency - thick and rich. Altered the sauce recipe a bit - substituted dark rum for the bourbon and omitted the pecans. Called it "hot buttered rum sauce"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Make this fabulous, rich dessert only if you have at least 30 minutes to dedicate to it. The caramel sauce requires a watchful eye, because your sugar-water-cream mix takes about ten minutes to become a caramel, but once it does, it will quickly harden into a hard sugar coating on the bottom of your pan if you've not removed it from the heat. But the result is worth the time!! Another reviewer said that she found the dessert dry. To avoid this, simply let the bread cubes sit in the pudding mix for more than 30 minutes, thereby soaking up more of the chocolate pudding. Use the time to fix supper, take a shower, or reverse the directions on the recipe: make the pudding first, and then make the caramel sauce while the Challah bread cubes soak in the pudding. The only modification I make to this recipe is that I cook it for almost an hour, instead of 45 minutes, and I ALWAYS let it sit for at least 10 minutes before serving because the dessert is quite souffle-like and will cave in if it does not sit for a while. Fortunately, it is equally delicious both warm and at room temperature, so don't hesitate to make it early. The rich, buttery sauce is complimented by dark coffee and by a nice whisky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
When we had eaten our fill, I poured the remaining sauce over the leftovers and put it in the fridge. The leftovers were even better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States