Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made this pie (actually made two of them) for a Christmas party, entertained some friends with the leftovers the next day, and took the rest to the office, and it was a big hit with everyone!! Reading the other reviews , I made the following suggested modifications: used deep dish pie crust, the amount of filling turned out just right that way; cut down bourbon to 2 tbs and sugar to 3/4 cup; and laid down a single layer of chocolate chips at the bottom of the crust (did not measure, it was maybe 2 oz of chips) instead of mixing them in the filling. This was the first pecan pie I ever made, and I make desserts rarely, but this was easy to make and turned out wonderfully. If you want a nice pecan pie with a twist (that is not overpowering), try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
this is my recipe that I have been making for at least 15 years for Thanksgiving & Christmas...I have changed it slightly to make it the way we really love. 3/4c sugar instead of of 1c, 2 tbsp bourbon instead of 1/4c and 1/2c choc chips instead of 6 oz. Make it in a DEEP pie dish, as this makes a lot of filling!! Thanksgiving isn't Thanksgiving for me without this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I am asked to make this for every holiday! I put the chocolate chips in the pie shell prior to adding the mixture so that they don't melt. Prior to this, they seemed to make one big chocolate glob - adding them first took care of this problem. I also use a little less bourbon so it doesn't overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjelli1
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is a DECADENT pie! Like many other reviewers, I found it too chocolatey the first time I made it. To remedy it the second time: 1)I used less chocolate chips 2) melted them beforehand 3) poured the melted chips into a deep dish pie shell, and put the pie shell back in the freezer for an hour before I made the actual pie. It came out great with just a little layer of chocolate at the bottom! Also like many reviewers I used Kahlua instead of Bourbon. DELISH! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I would push my grandma down the stairs to get to the last piece of this pie. DEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
The pie was delicious. The only problem I ran into was that the recipie makes a lot of filling -- I used a frozen, ready-made 9" pie crust and it was enough for 2 pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Incredible! I wanted something different this year for Thanksgiving and this was it! I used Kahlua instead of Bourbon, and it was just incredible. I think next time I will lower the amount of chocolate chips, as they are a little overpowering, but otherwise the perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I tried this recipe without the bourbon and it turned out to be rather good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Like Jay in Tennessee, I did push my Grandmother down the stairs for the last piece of this pie! Two good things came out of this. The pie was the best hit ever this holiday season, and Grandma's new hips are better than the original! She ended up thanking me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powerbar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This pecan pie is overwhelmed by the bourbon and chocolate and has more of a custard consistency. Recipe almost makes enough filling for 2 pies if using a frozen 9" pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States