Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Doubled recipe for two pies. Made perfect amount. Used Kahlua instead of bourbon. Spread 3 oz of semi sweet chips on the bottoms of the crusts, filled and baked. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Loved this! It did make a lot of filling, even for my deep dish crust, so I might cut down a bit on the sugar, corn syrup, & butter. I altered the recipe slightly by using 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 brown sugar & adding 1 tsp maple extract along with the bourbon. I loved the rich, smoky flavor from the bourbon w/ the maple & the decadent taste of the chocolate & pecans! This is my favorite pecan pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Made this pie yesterday and it was delish! I am not a baker, and it came out really good, everyone loved it and it's now on the list for Christmas. Only thing I baked it a little longer, about an hour and 10 minutes, then turned the oven off and let it sit for another 15, oh and I added about a half cup more of pecans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I wanted to like this a lot, but it turned out quite soupy inside. (To be fair, a lot of pies do that for me, perhaps because I live at a high elevation.) I made it exactly as written. The flavors were very nice, but "slices" of this pie, both fresh and as leftovers, were physically a mess. If this were properly thickened for me, I'd definitely bump up my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
WOW - this is phenomenal. I LOVE this pie. The bourbon flavor is a little strong, so I reduce it to a couple table spoons or so (I'm a bad measurer). But let me recommend - when you are choosing a bourbon to use in the pie - the brand matters. Try it with Southern Comfort. You will NOT be disappointed. It is naturally a little sweeter than other bourbons, and it works SO well in this pie. I've used Makers Mark and JD, but Southern Comfort wins!! It's so good. It's good in egg nog, too - which goes perfectly with the pie. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
As others have noted, the chocolate overwhelms the other flavors, and it's difficult to get the consistency right if you make the pie as written. It came out a bit like chocolate soup for me. Make sure you read the advice on modifying before you try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have about 4 recipes for "Derby" pie. This is by far the best. If you like the pie, try it with Bourbon Whipped Cream (recipe on this site). Dangerous stuff. One note, if you use a pre-made frozen pie shell, you'll have too much filling. It makes enough to fill a Pyrex deep dish glass pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It took forever to cook - over an hour and it's still not "set". Not sure if I did it wrong or not :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious pie. If you only buy one pie shell for this recipe, then you would be up -creek without a paddle! Someone change it to two shells, .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving as one of my desserts. It was very, very rich and very good. The only thing that I would do different next time is to half the amount of chocolate chips and possibly melt them first and add to the pie crust before the filling. The chocolate chips didn't seem to melt at all. This was very good with a little bit of whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States