Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
use it for big occasions, cut back in bourbon to just over half if using a 101 proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
What a surprisingly wonderful creation! I needed a pie for a family gathering where all of the usual suspects would already be supplied. So I tried this with the following medications as other reviewers suggested: 3/4 cup sugar and 2 T bourbon only, plus just a sprinkling of dark chocolate chips across the bottom of the unbaked pie crust. It was amazing! Very rich- but that is ok, just a little piece goes a long way. Thank you for sharing! Making it again now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and this pie is always a hit over pumpkin and apple pies at holiday gatherings. I also tried it with different bourbons vs whiskey and learned that the full amount (1/4 c) of a top shelf bourbon is the way to go. Does not have any bite to it that the cheaper stuff gives off. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used Jim Beam Maple Bourbon for this recipe and it came out extremely well. I have some food allergies, so I used a gluten free pastry crust (bad idea - next time I'll use a GF graham cracker crust instead), organic brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup, and Enjoy Life chocolate chips. Note: This recipe makes enough filling for two 9" pies of standard depth. The white sugar could easily be cut in half or omitted entirely - this is a SUPER rich, sweet dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nadiajc
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Delicious. I substituted rum for bourbon and added the bittersweet chocolate chips to bottom of pie. The pie was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RedMama
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Loved it! Very easy! I also did what some other reviewers suggested which was to only use 2 Tablespoons bourbon and only use 3 oz of the semi sweet chocolate chips layered on the bottom before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made 1 deep dish with this recipe, it was AWESOME!! But,the filling didn't set like it should have . it was messy,but it was solo good. What should I do differently?,because I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Super easy and delicious. Our company and I felt the bourbon was the right amount - not too overpowering at all. We followed the suggestion of others and just sprinkled chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie. I was surprised by the comments that the recipe made two pies - it perfectly filled one store bought 9" pie crust for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
OMG this is so good, I lost my grandma's recipe, and found this one and it sounded similar. I also made a few adjustments, I added a 1/4 tsp cinnamon, used honey bourbon, 1.5 cups pecans, and just did dark chocolate chips in the bottom of 2 deep dish crusts. THIS WAS DEFINATELY ENOUGH FOR 2 DEEP DISH PIE CRUSTS. Everyone at work loved them, so making a 2nd batch now for Turkey Day dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kd Michael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It was soooo good!!!!!!, I followed others to reduced the sugar to 3/4 C, 2 tablespoons of bourbon, 2 oz. semi sweet chocolate chips and I used lite corn syrup...thank you for sharing:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States