Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
AMAZING! After looking at some reviews and a first attempt I think I came up with what I think works well - melt about 1/3 of a bag and coat your crust with it. Use about a handful of chocolate chips in the corn syrup/sugar/butter mixture so those melt as well. I also added a lot more pecans than normal since I LOVE pecans... This pie and another pie recipe I made for my boyfriend's parents for their Thanksgiving this year and both went over AMAZINGLY well! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hobson, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I wish I could rate this with more stars, it definately deserves it. I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving and this pie was a definate show-stopper. One of the guests at dinner commented that it was like the creamiest fudge he ever had and it was in a pie shell to boot. I did not change one thing on this recipe other than to decorate the top of the pie with pecan halves. This is definately worth making, absolutely delicious as written with no substitutions whatsoever! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this same recipe for years. Since I first made it, it has been required for me to bring this to Thanksgiving every year. I sometimes omit the bourbon and chop only about half the pecans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Great pie! The amount of bourbon is perfect. I did add the choc chips to the bottom it worked out very well. I used half brown sugar and half granulated sugar for a richer flavor - I also only used a total of 3/4 cup. Very easy, very tasty and a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinolson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a fantastic version of pecan pie. I did cut down a bit on the chocolate chips (used 4 oz.), since I've had the expereince of too much chocolate in a pecan pie. Also, I used the small toll house chips, which disperse better. I didn't chop the pecans. Looks much nicer if you use the halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
SO rich and yummy! Not sure why, but I layered the choc chips on the bottom as others suggested (gave in to peer pressure from the reviews! : ) The bourbon smell did seem strong, and I can taste it, but its not overpowering to me (if I planned to serve it when kids were present, I may scale back.) Great, easy pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was an interesting twist on a traditional favorite. When I make it again I think I'll use about 1/2 the chocolate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NE1canCook
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Love pecan pie - love chocolate - love Kentucky bourbon --- this is heaven!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NE1canCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Photo by JULIARC1
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This pie has certified me into a mini-Martha Stewart. This pie was incredible I followed others' advice with my own twist. I put some chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie and left the rest to melt in the mixture. I used 3/4 cup dark brown sugar instead of white. I used deep dish 9" pans and still had some mixture left over which I froze and made an even better pie later. I even made smaller individual pies for a guest who was a recovering alcoholic and he loved it without the bourbon as well. I also decorated the top of the pie with whole pecans. I'm getting so many requests for this pie it's crazy. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIARC1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Fantastic!!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and used slightly less sugar, and only lined the bottom of the pie with chocolate chips, but I used the full amount of bourbon, and it wasn't overpowering at all. Maybe the other reviewers were wimpier than my family! I don't bake much, but I will definitely make this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States