Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I've been using this recipe since 2002. It always comes out perfect and everyone loves it. Just remember not to double it, pre-cook your pie shell for a carmelized effect, beat the eggs until just barely frothy, and always wrap your crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This pie was amazing! I doubled the recipe because I needed 2 pies for a work pot luck. I used Makers Mark which really made the flavors wake up, and I poured a 12 oz bag of Toll House semi sweet chips into my melted butter mixture. I have had Chocolate Pecan Pie disasters in the past. I find that this doesn't leave you with the hit or miss of flavor thing that has plagued my pies in the past. I used jumbo eggs which has always been a preference. I did end up making an extra pie crust and had 3 pies! I am so glad that I did too! This pie was the hit of the pot luck and I now have everyone convinced that I am quite the Gourmand! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
decided to try something new this year instead of a pecan pie. this turned out to be the best pecan pie i have ever had, so delectable! all my friends loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
loved this- only change was to put a single layer of choc chips in the crust before the filling. my husband thought the bourbon was a little powerful, but I didn't. the second time I made this I halved the bourbon and he still complained and I didn't think it was strong enough. A matter of personal taste. Next pie gets the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I don't like pecans but I made this for an office holiday party and it was a huge hit. There were FIVE pies, TWO pecan and this one was gone before all the others and in about an hour. So yeah, I guess it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Always perfects!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Thurman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy and very yummy. It was almost too rich for me though, so I could only stomach a small slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was good. Super easy to make too. The only modification I made was to put the chocolate chips on the bottom as suggested by several others. Be prepared, it is really sweet. Also, because I like bourbon and chocolate and pecans I thought I'd love this. The bourbon was ok but seriously noticeable(I used Woodford Reserve). Many other reviewers mentioned they omitted the bourbon or replaced with Kahlua. I think I might try the caramel Bailey's next time, for a sweet, nutty, chocolately, caramel pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and highly recommend you use a DEEP dish pie crust. I found it was too rich with the chocolate added but the bourbon added a really nice flavor to the pie!! I am in the process of making this pie again without the chocolate and will see how well it tastes without it. Im sure it will be fabulous!! Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dana
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
OMG this pie is amazing, it was the only one that didn't have any left by thanksgiving night. I made it just as is except for visual effect I topped it with whole toasted pecans in a circular pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States