Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I thought the flavor was great, but I would add more pecans next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
use it for big occasions, cut back in bourbon to just over half if using a 101 proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
What a surprisingly wonderful creation! I needed a pie for a family gathering where all of the usual suspects would already be supplied. So I tried this with the following medications as other reviewers suggested: 3/4 cup sugar and 2 T bourbon only, plus just a sprinkling of dark chocolate chips across the bottom of the unbaked pie crust. It was amazing! Very rich- but that is ok, just a little piece goes a long way. Thank you for sharing! Making it again now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and this pie is always a hit over pumpkin and apple pies at holiday gatherings. I also tried it with different bourbons vs whiskey and learned that the full amount (1/4 c) of a top shelf bourbon is the way to go. Does not have any bite to it that the cheaper stuff gives off. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I used Jim Beam Maple Bourbon for this recipe and it came out extremely well. I have some food allergies, so I used a gluten free pastry crust (bad idea - next time I'll use a GF graham cracker crust instead), organic brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup, and Enjoy Life chocolate chips. Note: This recipe makes enough filling for two 9" pies of standard depth. The white sugar could easily be cut in half or omitted entirely - this is a SUPER rich, sweet dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nadiajc
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Delicious. I substituted rum for bourbon and added the bittersweet chocolate chips to bottom of pie. The pie was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RedMama
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Loved it! Very easy! I also did what some other reviewers suggested which was to only use 2 Tablespoons bourbon and only use 3 oz of the semi sweet chocolate chips layered on the bottom before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made 1 deep dish with this recipe, it was AWESOME!! But,the filling didn't set like it should have . it was messy,but it was solo good. What should I do differently?,because I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Super easy and delicious. Our company and I felt the bourbon was the right amount - not too overpowering at all. We followed the suggestion of others and just sprinkled chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie. I was surprised by the comments that the recipe made two pies - it perfectly filled one store bought 9" pie crust for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
OMG this is so good, I lost my grandma's recipe, and found this one and it sounded similar. I also made a few adjustments, I added a 1/4 tsp cinnamon, used honey bourbon, 1.5 cups pecans, and just did dark chocolate chips in the bottom of 2 deep dish crusts. THIS WAS DEFINATELY ENOUGH FOR 2 DEEP DISH PIE CRUSTS. Everyone at work loved them, so making a 2nd batch now for Turkey Day dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kd Michael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States