Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've been making a modified version of this for years. Had to tweak it to get it just right for me. If I add the chocolate it's 1/4 cup (and I subtract 1/4 cup sugar). Use dark syrup and swap out a dash of molasses. My pan is deep dish and it is filled up so I'm sure a regular pan would be a tight fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe was ok and easy to make. I followed it exactly with the exception of putting the chocolate chips on the crust and I used a few more pecans than called for. My husband and his friend (both bourbon lovers) really liked this which is why I gave this four stars vs three. Being from Georgia and a pecan pie purist, I wouldn't make this again as written. I think i may try adding the bourbon to my standard pecan pie recipe because I think the guys really liked the addition. The chocolate and kind of "custardy" filling of this recipe just didn't work for me though and is not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Good recipe. I liked it but those who don't like chocolate didn't. I did take someone's advice on here and just put the chocolate chips along the crust so it wasn't a big chocolate glob. Going to deliver this pie to my dad tonight and that's the real test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
What a mess. I hate when people 4- and 5-star a recipe that they have changed a lot in order to make it work. I should have know better. Yes it tasted OK, but there was enough to two pies. Had to make up another shell. The light corn syrup was too much too and the white sugar…like others posted. I thought the bourbon was just fine though--not overwhelming at all, but it did move across two pies. Either read a lot of the comments or have two shells ready before you make this. Or, use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It's very sweet and rich. It definitely has the texture of pecan pie but it tastes mostly like chocolate. I was afraid of the alcohol taste that some people reported so I halved the bourbon. But, it must have cooked the alcohol off because I didn't taste it. If you're looking for pecan pie this might not satisfy you, it's more of a chocolate pie. But served over ice cream it's delicious anyway. It made two shorter pies for me I might have been able to squeeze most of it into one deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. Amazing! Super popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent as is, and stupendous when you make alterations to fit your own taste preferences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was ok, but way too bourbon-y. I added half the amount after reading reviews. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
A big hit! Used Jack Daniels and it was great. Our company loved it as did my husband. He wondered why I deviated from my usual non chocolate recipe but then was happy I did! Just a note, I only made 75% of the recipe ingredients, it would have been way too much volume for a regular pie size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
the flavor was very nice together....I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States