Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was very good, I used large bittersweet chocolate chips (all I had) which was a mistake, the pie was yummy but then you'd bite into a big cold chunk of hard chocolate. I ended up digging them out while eating the otherwise awesome pie. If I make again w/chocolate chips I may melt the chocolate and put a layer onto the bottom instead, I didn't like the chip texture. It doesn't really need the chocolate however, the pie was awesome, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I make four each year for a bigtime Derby party on Cape Cod. I bake the pie shell (made with No Roll Canola oil recipe) with the mini chocolate chips at 450 for 8 minutes. Melts the chocolate before the mixture goes in and sets the No Roll crust. Individually place each pecan on top and make a little design. Then bake the pie at 325 for 55 mins. You'll get a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This pie is now a holiday tradition with our family! It's a favorite for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBiscottis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I just didn't swirl the chocolate chips into the pan good enough. Some pieces were very chocolaty and some tasted like a standard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I added a little more chocolate and put in some crumbled bacon (2.5 strips); called it the "BBC" (bourbon, bacon, and chocolate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I ended up cooking the pie for 15 minutes longer than the directions recommended and it just wouldn't set up right (Probably my fault somehow), but although it was a little runny it was still very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I think this is the best peacan pie I ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is deliciously decadent, with just the right amount of chocolate and bourbon and it is very easy to make. I usually make one for Thanksgiving. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Somehow I failed with this one, but I followed the recipe exactly. I think it made too much filling for my pie crusts. It seems like it boiled out of them in the oven because all of the filling ended up caked on the sides of my pie pan but the crusts themselves were empty. We still picked at it, but it was very bourbon-y for our taste. Will try again with some modifications (and maybe more baking experience) and figure out what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States