Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made two pies, one for the in-laws and the other for my family. There were two different reactions the in-laws loved it, they love chocolate and have a huge sweet tooth, but my family thought it was too sweet now they don't like as many sweets. I actually thought it was kind of sweet and will cut back on the chips next time unless it is for the in-laws. Other than that everyone loved it and its really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sintia Cornejo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great! My whole family loved this when I brought it for Thanksgiving. Next time I will add a little more bourbon because it was not as present as I expected. Also, I used mini chocolate chips so they would melt faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made this many times and everyone loves it. I also had the problem of too much filling, even with a deep-dish crust. What I have started doing, and it comes out perfectly, is using 2 regular (not deep dish) pie crusts. I keep the ingredients the same except I double the pecans and chocolate chips and split the filling between the two crusts. I line the bottom of the pan with the chips; if you want to mix them in with the filling, don't double them. The pie is good either way but is more like a custard or chess pie when the chips are mixed in and more of a traditional pecan pie when you don't. I just prefer not mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Hartnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This turned out so well! My family loved it. I used closer to 1/2 cup bourbon, and also used a chocolate graham cracker crust. I've made a lot of different versions of pecan pies, and this is quickly becoming my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
You need to say this makes 2 9-inch pies not one! Just made the pie filling and luckily had a frozen pie crust for extra filling. That's ok I'll give the extra to some neighbors!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white. I also reduced the bourbon to 2 tablespoons....at a 1/4 cup it is just too strong. Lastly, I use a handful of dark chocolate chips. This way way, you get a pecan pie with a hint of chocolate rather than a chocolate pie with a hint of pecan. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great pie, loved it! I made it as written--thought the bourbon and chocolate were perfect (how can you go wrong with bourbon and chocolate?)--it's a bourbon chocolate pecan pie, so I wanted those flavors to infuse the pie. I doubled the recipe, found this filled 3 deep dish pie pans nicely. Maybe could have squeezed all the filling into 2 very full pans, but didn't want to risk having to clean my oven afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I won a cooking contest at work with this recipe! I follow the recipe more or less as written, with the following tweaks... I use a deep dish pie pan, I pour half a bag of chips onto the bottom of the pie crust, followed by half a pound of pecan halves, then pour the liquid mixture over that rather than mixing them all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is the most amazing pecan pie ever!!! Use top shelf bourbon for a smooth taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this pie for my best friend's birthday. Chocolate pecan pie is her favorite since she visited New Orleans. She and the guests absolutely loved it! She did say it was the best pecan pie she ever had! I did use the other reviewer's suggestions, using the 3/4 cup of sugar, 2 tblsps of Kahula, and I laid the chips in the pie shell first. I took 2 pie shells, rolled them together and used a pyrex pie plate. There was a lot of filling and one shell wouldnt have been enough, next time I will buy a deep dish shell. I served the pie with Haagen Das vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States