Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It was soooo good!!!!!!, I followed others to reduced the sugar to 3/4 C, 2 tablespoons of bourbon, 2 oz. semi sweet chocolate chips and I used lite corn syrup...thank you for sharing:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving 2013 and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Excellent pie. The bourbon really shows up in this recipe, so I used Maker's Mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used about 3/4 cup of sugar and I used Kahlua instead of bourbon. I also did as the other reviewers said and put the chips on the bottom of the crust. The pecans, of course, went to the top and the chocolate chips made a layer underneath the pecans! Outstanding! I made it for one of the teacher's birthdays and it was gone almost before we finished singing Happy Birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I bake this pie multiple times in the fall and winter to take to camp with us. There is never a crumb left and, mostly the men ask for more, more, more! Fantastic, easy recipe I love baking it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Warwick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Holder
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Turned out lovely. It only took 45 minutes to bake. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Holder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Good flavor but didn't bake up as much as I had hoped it would. I used a standard pie plate with homemade crust but it came out flat and barely made it 1/3 the way up the sides. I replaced half the corn syrup with equal parts honey and pure maple syrup. I also decreased the bourbon to 1 1/2 tablespoons and omitted the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My advice for those who have commented negatively on the "overwhelming" bourbon or chocolate flavors, fix a plain pecan pie! This pie is wonderful and perfectly blends the flavors of the bourbon, chocolate and pecans...hence the name. I'm a Kentucky gal, and we do love our bourbon. In fact, there's no such thing as too much bourbon flavoring, so I add a bit more than the recipe calls for. (Make sure it's Kentucky bourbon or it's not the real thing!) My friends and family request this pie often. It's PERFECT! It does make 2 9-inch pies or 1 deep dish 9-inch pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I've been making a modified version of this for years. Had to tweak it to get it just right for me. If I add the chocolate it's 1/4 cup (and I subtract 1/4 cup sugar). Use dark syrup and swap out a dash of molasses. My pan is deep dish and it is filled up so I'm sure a regular pan would be a tight fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe was ok and easy to make. I followed it exactly with the exception of putting the chocolate chips on the crust and I used a few more pecans than called for. My husband and his friend (both bourbon lovers) really liked this which is why I gave this four stars vs three. Being from Georgia and a pecan pie purist, I wouldn't make this again as written. I think i may try adding the bourbon to my standard pecan pie recipe because I think the guys really liked the addition. The chocolate and kind of "custardy" filling of this recipe just didn't work for me though and is not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States