Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I wish I had never made this pie. I can't resist eating it and my family will not let me make something different instead of this recipe for the special holidays. I like changing things up from time to time. If you have dark chocolate lovers, beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is the best pecan pie recipe on earth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. The chocolate and bourbon was much, and the pie filling itself was custardy, and I didn't care for it. Not the usual type of pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ogie_Rox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very tasty recipe. I altered it to use (1) a deep-dish 9" pie shell, (2) 2.5 ounces of Jack Daniels, (3) 4 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate melted and spread on the bottom of the pie shell (which I put back in the freezer) to create a bottom layer separate from the very delicious vanilla-bourbon-corn syrup-sugar-eggs filling, and (4) more pecans. Our guests loved it. My suggestion is that the pie not be served warm because the filling won't fully congeal until it has been in the refrigerator for a while. I have some extra filling. Where did I put those mini-pie shells?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REOlsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Doubled recipe for two pies. Made perfect amount. Used Kahlua instead of bourbon. Spread 3 oz of semi sweet chips on the bottoms of the crusts, filled and baked. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Loved this! It did make a lot of filling, even for my deep dish crust, so I might cut down a bit on the sugar, corn syrup, & butter. I altered the recipe slightly by using 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 brown sugar & adding 1 tsp maple extract along with the bourbon. I loved the rich, smoky flavor from the bourbon w/ the maple & the decadent taste of the chocolate & pecans! This is my favorite pecan pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Made this pie yesterday and it was delish! I am not a baker, and it came out really good, everyone loved it and it's now on the list for Christmas. Only thing I baked it a little longer, about an hour and 10 minutes, then turned the oven off and let it sit for another 15, oh and I added about a half cup more of pecans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I wanted to like this a lot, but it turned out quite soupy inside. (To be fair, a lot of pies do that for me, perhaps because I live at a high elevation.) I made it exactly as written. The flavors were very nice, but "slices" of this pie, both fresh and as leftovers, were physically a mess. If this were properly thickened for me, I'd definitely bump up my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
WOW - this is phenomenal. I LOVE this pie. The bourbon flavor is a little strong, so I reduce it to a couple table spoons or so (I'm a bad measurer). But let me recommend - when you are choosing a bourbon to use in the pie - the brand matters. Try it with Southern Comfort. You will NOT be disappointed. It is naturally a little sweeter than other bourbons, and it works SO well in this pie. I've used Makers Mark and JD, but Southern Comfort wins!! It's so good. It's good in egg nog, too - which goes perfectly with the pie. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
As others have noted, the chocolate overwhelms the other flavors, and it's difficult to get the consistency right if you make the pie as written. It came out a bit like chocolate soup for me. Make sure you read the advice on modifying before you try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States