Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Fills a store-bought 9" deep-dish pie shell to *almost* overflowing, so fill/bake on a stiff cookie sheet. I used 1/3 cup bourbon rather than 1/4 cup, worked out fine. I also spread the chips in the shell rather than mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is the first time that I have tried to make a pecan pie, it is so easy and looks great when it is done. I substituted ameretto for the burbon, and put the chocolate chips in the bottom of the pie crust. Will be making this again and again for Thanksgiving, as well as our church bazzar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzyBee27
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this pie the other day as a test run for Thanxgiving as I have never made pecan pie before. I followed suggestions to minimize the bourbon and sugar, and put a layer of chocolate chips on the bottom instead of mix it in. I also drizzled some dark chocolate across the top for presentation and added taste. This recipe makes a lot of filling, so next time I'm going to try a deep dish crust, but it was soo yummy with the graham crust I used and everyone loved it. It was announced as a must for this upcoming holiday. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyBee27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Love, love LOVE this pie! I made some minor adjustments per other people's reviews. I used 3 Tablespoons of Bourbon, and I thought it could have used a little more (I'm a fan of bourbon). It was VERY rich, chocolate-y and decadent. I was able to make 2 9-inch standard pies with this recipe (I don't own a deep dish pie pan). I can already tell that I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I make as directed except put the chocolate chips in the bottom first before the filling. This pie is the first one eaten at all the holidays! Everyone was fighting over the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I can describe this pie in two words: rich and sinful. I use 1/2 cup of Ghiradelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips that I sprinkle directly onto the crust then I pour the filling over the chocolate. This recipe make enough filling for one deep dish or two standard pies. This is one pie you will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipie makes enough for 2 pies so be ready for that. I made this pie last thanksgiving and sent one with my mother in-law to her mothers and i took the other to my cousins house! I got nothing but rave reviews from everyone there. My cousin loved it so much that she insited that i give her the recipie before i left! when i got home my mother in-law sang nothing but praise about the pie as well. the only compliante that i got was that there was not enough for seconds! this is deffiatly staying in my recipie box to be pulled out time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I don't even like pecan pie, but I'll scarf this one down!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Voss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really good. Used only 3/4 cup sugar and I would probably cut that to 1/2 cup next time. I also used Bacardi Gold Rum instead. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ocean1971

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
To die for! I usually make about 3/4 of the recipe for a regular 9" pre-made frozen pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States