Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I had HUGE high hopes for this one....and was really dying for it....but unfortuantely my pie did not cook up properly....and I have no idea why. It was gorgeous though.....but very loose in the middle even though it had cooked for way longer than stated. It kinda turned out like a molten chocolate pecan pie. Tasted great and had to eat witha spoon....I even decrease the amount of bourbon....but I did add a little more of the chocolate chips and maybe thats what threw this recipe off.....my only bummer recipe this Thanksgiving....BUT I am gonna try again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have never tried to bake a pecan pie but I saw this recipe last week and decided to give it a go. Tonight is the night before Thanksgiving 2010. Pie just cooled so I cut a piece to try......FANTASTIC!!! This pie is so easy, even a nonbaker like me can look like a chef. Tastes terrific and did I mention how easy it was?!?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My husband says it's the Best pie he has ever had. I used a deep dish pie crust and it fit perfect, also I put the chocolate chips in the bottom pie crust before I poured the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Fills a store-bought 9" deep-dish pie shell to *almost* overflowing, so fill/bake on a stiff cookie sheet. I used 1/3 cup bourbon rather than 1/4 cup, worked out fine. I also spread the chips in the shell rather than mixing them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is the first time that I have tried to make a pecan pie, it is so easy and looks great when it is done. I substituted ameretto for the burbon, and put the chocolate chips in the bottom of the pie crust. Will be making this again and again for Thanksgiving, as well as our church bazzar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizzyBee27
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this pie the other day as a test run for Thanxgiving as I have never made pecan pie before. I followed suggestions to minimize the bourbon and sugar, and put a layer of chocolate chips on the bottom instead of mix it in. I also drizzled some dark chocolate across the top for presentation and added taste. This recipe makes a lot of filling, so next time I'm going to try a deep dish crust, but it was soo yummy with the graham crust I used and everyone loved it. It was announced as a must for this upcoming holiday. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyBee27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Love, love LOVE this pie! I made some minor adjustments per other people's reviews. I used 3 Tablespoons of Bourbon, and I thought it could have used a little more (I'm a fan of bourbon). It was VERY rich, chocolate-y and decadent. I was able to make 2 9-inch standard pies with this recipe (I don't own a deep dish pie pan). I can already tell that I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I make as directed except put the chocolate chips in the bottom first before the filling. This pie is the first one eaten at all the holidays! Everyone was fighting over the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I can describe this pie in two words: rich and sinful. I use 1/2 cup of Ghiradelli 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips that I sprinkle directly onto the crust then I pour the filling over the chocolate. This recipe make enough filling for one deep dish or two standard pies. This is one pie you will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipie makes enough for 2 pies so be ready for that. I made this pie last thanksgiving and sent one with my mother in-law to her mothers and i took the other to my cousins house! I got nothing but rave reviews from everyone there. My cousin loved it so much that she insited that i give her the recipie before i left! when i got home my mother in-law sang nothing but praise about the pie as well. the only compliante that i got was that there was not enough for seconds! this is deffiatly staying in my recipie box to be pulled out time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States