Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is the most amazing pecan pie ever!!! Use top shelf bourbon for a smooth taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this pie for my best friend's birthday. Chocolate pecan pie is her favorite since she visited New Orleans. She and the guests absolutely loved it! She did say it was the best pecan pie she ever had! I did use the other reviewer's suggestions, using the 3/4 cup of sugar, 2 tblsps of Kahula, and I laid the chips in the pie shell first. I took 2 pie shells, rolled them together and used a pyrex pie plate. There was a lot of filling and one shell wouldnt have been enough, next time I will buy a deep dish shell. I served the pie with Haagen Das vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I learned from Annie Overboe way back that the way to make a pecan pie really amazing is to double the pecans because in most the goop to nut ratio is too high. I only added an extra half cup to this recipe because with all the chocolate and bourbon in the goop I knew the goop would be the best part of it. Served it just a little warm with home made vanilla ice cream on the side and a whipped cream bonnet. It was perfect for Fat Tuesday...totally over the top. I let the butter/sugar/syrup mixture cool enough to not cook the eggs but still warm enough to melt the chocolate. Unlike most people here I used all the booze and all the chocolate and all the sugar this recipe called for and it was fantastic!!!! IMHO you can never have too much chocolate or booze in a dessert. My husband ate all his and then started in on what was left on our daughter's plate. I used some really nice old Bushmill's. Maybe that's why it went down so smooth. Makes one nice sized pie, filled to the brim if you use a pyrex pie plate and make your own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
used Kahlua instead of bourban but its awesome! our new favorite for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Moapa, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Great pie!! I tried this after having a chocolate bourbon pecan pie at my in-laws. It turned out better than theirs!! I only wish I would have made more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was gross....will not make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I didn't add the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a HUGE hit...Have made 5 within the past two weeks, due to requests! A couple of personalizations...use 3 whole eggs, plus 2 yokes. Also, add just a pinch of Chile de Arbol powder to syrup...no heat, but it really adds a great zip "binder" for the sweet & chocolate I do put the chocolate & pecans on the bottom of the crust. Wonderful, and...easy as pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
First pecan pie attempt and it turned out beautifully. Rave reviews from family over the Holidays. Bourbon was a definite flavor factor, might try it with a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I LOVE this pie- which is saying something because pie is definitely not my dessert of choice. It may sound a little odd, but I add coconut to it. It reminds me of a pie I had years ago at a plantation restaurant I visited in Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States