Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
What a mess. I hate when people 4- and 5-star a recipe that they have changed a lot in order to make it work. I should have know better. Yes it tasted OK, but there was enough to two pies. Had to make up another shell. The light corn syrup was too much too and the white sugar…like others posted. I thought the bourbon was just fine though--not overwhelming at all, but it did move across two pies. Either read a lot of the comments or have two shells ready before you make this. Or, use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It's very sweet and rich. It definitely has the texture of pecan pie but it tastes mostly like chocolate. I was afraid of the alcohol taste that some people reported so I halved the bourbon. But, it must have cooked the alcohol off because I didn't taste it. If you're looking for pecan pie this might not satisfy you, it's more of a chocolate pie. But served over ice cream it's delicious anyway. It made two shorter pies for me I might have been able to squeeze most of it into one deep dish pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. Amazing! Super popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Excellent as is, and stupendous when you make alterations to fit your own taste preferences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was ok, but way too bourbon-y. I added half the amount after reading reviews. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
A big hit! Used Jack Daniels and it was great. Our company loved it as did my husband. He wondered why I deviated from my usual non chocolate recipe but then was happy I did! Just a note, I only made 75% of the recipe ingredients, it would have been way too much volume for a regular pie size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
the flavor was very nice together....I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I wish I had never made this pie. I can't resist eating it and my family will not let me make something different instead of this recipe for the special holidays. I like changing things up from time to time. If you have dark chocolate lovers, beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is the best pecan pie recipe on earth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. The chocolate and bourbon was much, and the pie filling itself was custardy, and I didn't care for it. Not the usual type of pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Hayes Stutts

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States