Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
For me this recipe didn't work. The flavors are GREAT, but it separated out into a layer of chocolate, layer of pecans and layer of the corn syrup mixture - which made the consistency a little odd when I was hoping for more of a fudge/nut flavor. I would recommend melting the chocolate first. The Bourbon however is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alisa
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
If there was a sixth star I would have given it! Awesome, wonderful, great, incredible! So simple and easy to make and was an absolute hit. Followed the advice of the other reviewers: 1-used deep dish pie crust, worked perfectly 2-cut down bourbon to 2 tbs (will use more next time) 3-cut sugar to 3/4 cup 4-laid down a single layer of chocolate chips at the bottom of the crust (did not measure, just a single layer covering the crust bottom) instead of mixing them in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A good pie, though very rich. The bourbon was a bit strong for some people, but overall a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is fantastic!! A huge hit for Thanksgiving. I did not have any bourbon and just left it out. It tasted great. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I thought this pie looked very good, but only one slice was gone by the end of the night. Hmmm, too intimitdating? I followed reviews and put mini chocolate chips in the bottom of the pie plate. I put probably 2 layers... BIG mistake. It was overly sweet, use very little chocolate please. I used the regular amount of bourbon which ended up being exactly a shooter of Jim Beam. It did not overpower the taste of the pie to me... until the next day. After it marinated in the fridge overnight it tasted like straight alcohol. One thing that I DID do that was awesome was decorate the top of the pie with halved pecans part-way through baking (it was too soft right when I put it in) this is a MUST to the flavor. It gives a but of a break from the ultra-rich overpowering part of the pie. So next time, less chocolate, even more halved pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babe-in-baking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
AMAZING! After looking at some reviews and a first attempt I think I came up with what I think works well - melt about 1/3 of a bag and coat your crust with it. Use about a handful of chocolate chips in the corn syrup/sugar/butter mixture so those melt as well. I also added a lot more pecans than normal since I LOVE pecans... This pie and another pie recipe I made for my boyfriend's parents for their Thanksgiving this year and both went over AMAZINGLY well! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hobson, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I wish I could rate this with more stars, it definately deserves it. I made this for the first time this Thanksgiving and this pie was a definate show-stopper. One of the guests at dinner commented that it was like the creamiest fudge he ever had and it was in a pie shell to boot. I did not change one thing on this recipe other than to decorate the top of the pie with pecan halves. This is definately worth making, absolutely delicious as written with no substitutions whatsoever! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this same recipe for years. Since I first made it, it has been required for me to bring this to Thanksgiving every year. I sometimes omit the bourbon and chop only about half the pecans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Great pie! The amount of bourbon is perfect. I did add the choc chips to the bottom it worked out very well. I used half brown sugar and half granulated sugar for a richer flavor - I also only used a total of 3/4 cup. Very easy, very tasty and a new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinolson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a fantastic version of pecan pie. I did cut down a bit on the chocolate chips (used 4 oz.), since I've had the expereince of too much chocolate in a pecan pie. Also, I used the small toll house chips, which disperse better. I didn't chop the pecans. Looks much nicer if you use the halves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States