Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy and very yummy. It was almost too rich for me though, so I could only stomach a small slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was good. Super easy to make too. The only modification I made was to put the chocolate chips on the bottom as suggested by several others. Be prepared, it is really sweet. Also, because I like bourbon and chocolate and pecans I thought I'd love this. The bourbon was ok but seriously noticeable(I used Woodford Reserve). Many other reviewers mentioned they omitted the bourbon or replaced with Kahlua. I think I might try the caramel Bailey's next time, for a sweet, nutty, chocolately, caramel pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and highly recommend you use a DEEP dish pie crust. I found it was too rich with the chocolate added but the bourbon added a really nice flavor to the pie!! I am in the process of making this pie again without the chocolate and will see how well it tastes without it. Im sure it will be fabulous!! Thanks for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dana
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
OMG this pie is amazing, it was the only one that didn't have any left by thanksgiving night. I made it just as is except for visual effect I topped it with whole toasted pecans in a circular pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
great pie !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a pie and this was perfect. Please note this recipe fills TWO 9 inch shells. I used the frozen Pillsbury kind and it was just right. Also, I didn't have bourbon so I used a mini bottle of Bailey's caramel liqueur instead. One more thing: I used the advice of another reviewer and sprinkled maybe 2 ounces of the chocolate chips on the crust instead of mixing them in and it was a great balance. Plus, adding more pecans (an extra 1/2 cup) brought it all together. Everyone loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a pecan pie and it turned out AMAZING! I followed the recipe with the exception of putting the chocolate chips in the bottom of the crust and then pouring the pecan pie filling over it. I too had a little bit of the filling left, so I just scooped out the pecans and didn't worry about the extra filling. I cooked the pie until set, which took the full amount of time listed. My family raved about the pie and stated that they will be expecting to have it again for Christmas! Thank you for such a yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've made this pie twice in as many days. The first was consumed on Thanksgiving day and my son begged for another one today. If you are using a standard Pyrex or metal pie pan you will be able to use all but about a half cup of the filling, give or take. Just salvage the pecans and toss the excess. Like others I have reduced the sugar and the amount of chips, which I also sprinkled in the bottom of the pan before filling. I agree that dark chocolate chips are the way to go and that using the entire amount of chocolate would be overkill. Used the full amount of bourbon both times and did not find it overwhelming at all. Perhaps it depends on the quality of bourbon used. In fact, you taste only a hint of bourbon under the chocolate which sets this apart from the typical peacan pie. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have fixed this several times. I reduce sugar to 3/4 cup and followed the advice of other reviewers and layer the chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie shell. It works fine without the bourbon. I bake for 60 minutes. It it easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was very easy to make and the results were fantastic. In fact, I'm making another right now because the first did not last! For the second pie, I'm going to omit the chocolate completely, and in future versions I think I will reduce it by 1/2 so that the chocolate does not overpower the pecan. You will need a deep dish pie crust for this amount of filling. Even the deepest store bought are still a touch too shallow. I have some ceramic pie dishes designed for big apple pies, and those easily take all the filling. Still, even with a store bought, not that much is wasted. Don't worry about the amount, just make this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States