Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by lace
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This pie was delicious!! I left out the bourbon since I made it for a church function. I also followed other reviewers' suggestion and added 2-3 oz chocolate chips as a bottom layer instead of inside the batter. It fit perfectly in a deep dish pie plate and baked beautifully on the 2nd to lowest rack without burning the top or bottom. Next time, I will make a homemade crust using the "Irresistible Pecan Pie" recipe since it is better than the frozen type. Can't wait to make again and try the bourbon version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I followed the advice of some reviews by lining the bottom of crust with chips and also cutting back on the bourbon. They turned out terrific! I made 4 pies for a special event and it was gobbled up quickly! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALGS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was my first pecan pie. I looked over a few pecan pie recipes on allrecipes and decided on this one for July 4th celebration, which turned out to be a great decision! I made my own crust and replaced bourbon with kahlua. I also let the pie sit in the oven for an additional 15-20 minutes after cooking it for 50 minutes. The consistency of the filling was perfect. Everybody loved it, thank you for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I have made this pie several times, following the exact recipe as written. Always a hit! Even my sister-in-law who lives in France HAD to have the recipe when she came to visit us, so now it is international. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPANDUSA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was very good, I used large bittersweet chocolate chips (all I had) which was a mistake, the pie was yummy but then you'd bite into a big cold chunk of hard chocolate. I ended up digging them out while eating the otherwise awesome pie. If I make again w/chocolate chips I may melt the chocolate and put a layer onto the bottom instead, I didn't like the chip texture. It doesn't really need the chocolate however, the pie was awesome, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I make four each year for a bigtime Derby party on Cape Cod. I bake the pie shell (made with No Roll Canola oil recipe) with the mini chocolate chips at 450 for 8 minutes. Melts the chocolate before the mixture goes in and sets the No Roll crust. Individually place each pecan on top and make a little design. Then bake the pie at 325 for 55 mins. You'll get a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
don't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This pie is now a holiday tradition with our family! It's a favorite for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBiscottis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I just didn't swirl the chocolate chips into the pan good enough. Some pieces were very chocolaty and some tasted like a standard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I added a little more chocolate and put in some crumbled bacon (2.5 strips); called it the "BBC" (bourbon, bacon, and chocolate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States