Chocolate Black Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Oooh. This was fantastic. It's great to have for breakfast with coffee or tea and is quite filling. Doesn't need frosting or anything of the sort but this isn't a sweet birthday cake! I was a bit nervous that it'd be too sweet when I measured out the sugar but once the batter was ready and it already smelled heavenly I knew this would be good. I used Ghirardelli's cocoa powder and plain old black tea. Didn't have that much hazelnuts at home so I used half walnuts half hazelnuts. The results were a delicious and moist coffee cake. I'll have to learn this recipe by heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I'm not an experienced baker, but this cake was fairly easy and fast to make. I baked it for an aunt's birthday and she isn't a big fan of dense cakes but I loved its rich chocolate flavor. I'll be skipping the nuts next time though. For the icing, I used plain and simple chocolate glaze and it tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This cake was fantastic!!! I used a black chai tea to enhance the flavors & put some mixed fruit on top. Made it for an award ceremony; It was gone in the blink of an eye!!!! Everybody loved it & i thought it was very easy to make. My friends even asked me to make some more for them! Definitely doing it again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Excellent tasting,very moist in the middle. I also made a chocolate glaze for in 2 cups of icing sugar half a cup of cocoa powder and 6 tablespoons of water, wisk until ready, spread all over cake the refrigerate. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I CANNOT bake at all but I've just successfully made this cake. I'm so proud of myself. I tried using Earl Grey Tea like one reviewer suggested and it gave the cake such a lovely, subtle taste. 5 stars for how easy it is to make and 5 stars for taste *edit* This cake still tastes great ad doesn't dry out even after 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was great. I didn't have hazelnuts, or I think it would have been even better. I used a 10cup williams-sonoma sunflower bundt pan and it almost overflowed. I think a 9 cup pan (as the recipe calls for) would not be enough. First time I baked with tea, got rave reviews from the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyssa
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Only one word I can say "Fabulous". This recipe was very easy to make for inexperienced cook like me. But the taste was just perfect. I did several changes due to what I had in my kitchen such as self-rising flour, sweetened cocoa powder, and my favorite strong tea. I skipped the hazelnuts and put a bit less sugar. Also, I sprigkeled it with cocoa powder instead of confectioner's sugar cause I didn't have it -__-. Many thanks for the real good and simple cake recipe. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Anything containing 1 cup of butter, can't be anything BUT yummy !! Any substitutions ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
a wonderful chocolate cake, not too dence. I used "eral gray" brand tea which added special aroma. A heavy frosting will spoil the delicate flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Tastes unlike anything I have ever had. Truely unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States