Chocolate Black Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I just LOVED this cake. My friends and I are all about tea time and this was perfect. I used earl grey per another reviewer...yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Anything containing 1 cup of butter, can't be anything BUT yummy !! Any substitutions ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
A little dry, but the flavor was so perfect for when you want something sweet, but not too sweet (like at tea or breakfast). So delicious, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Oooh. This was fantastic. It's great to have for breakfast with coffee or tea and is quite filling. Doesn't need frosting or anything of the sort but this isn't a sweet birthday cake! I was a bit nervous that it'd be too sweet when I measured out the sugar but once the batter was ready and it already smelled heavenly I knew this would be good. I used Ghirardelli's cocoa powder and plain old black tea. Didn't have that much hazelnuts at home so I used half walnuts half hazelnuts. The results were a delicious and moist coffee cake. I'll have to learn this recipe by heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
a wonderful chocolate cake, not too dence. I used "eral gray" brand tea which added special aroma. A heavy frosting will spoil the delicate flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I'm not an experienced baker, but this cake was fairly easy and fast to make. I baked it for an aunt's birthday and she isn't a big fan of dense cakes but I loved its rich chocolate flavor. I'll be skipping the nuts next time though. For the icing, I used plain and simple chocolate glaze and it tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Wonderful! This cake was just right the way it is! I will definitely make it again- !!! THUMBS UP! Thank you Marlies Monika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
A "must-have" for every chocolate fan out there. This is a great cake. I really liked that it wasn't that sweet at all. It's not like a brownie that contains tons of sugar. This cake is just right!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Sorry, I didn't like this cake at all. I baked it at 360 for 55 minutes, and it was dry, dry. Hazelnuts aren't cheap either. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I loved this recipe. Although I do recommend eating it the same day its made. But is was sooo delicous. I will definately make it again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States