Chocolate Black Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I just LOVED this cake. My friends and I are all about tea time and this was perfect. I used earl grey per another reviewer...yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pietrzak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Anything containing 1 cup of butter, can't be anything BUT yummy !! Any substitutions ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
A little dry, but the flavor was so perfect for when you want something sweet, but not too sweet (like at tea or breakfast). So delicious, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Oooh. This was fantastic. It's great to have for breakfast with coffee or tea and is quite filling. Doesn't need frosting or anything of the sort but this isn't a sweet birthday cake! I was a bit nervous that it'd be too sweet when I measured out the sugar but once the batter was ready and it already smelled heavenly I knew this would be good. I used Ghirardelli's cocoa powder and plain old black tea. Didn't have that much hazelnuts at home so I used half walnuts half hazelnuts. The results were a delicious and moist coffee cake. I'll have to learn this recipe by heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
a wonderful chocolate cake, not too dence. I used "eral gray" brand tea which added special aroma. A heavy frosting will spoil the delicate flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I'm not an experienced baker, but this cake was fairly easy and fast to make. I baked it for an aunt's birthday and she isn't a big fan of dense cakes but I loved its rich chocolate flavor. I'll be skipping the nuts next time though. For the icing, I used plain and simple chocolate glaze and it tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Wonderful! This cake was just right the way it is! I will definitely make it again- !!! THUMBS UP! Thank you Marlies Monika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
A "must-have" for every chocolate fan out there. This is a great cake. I really liked that it wasn't that sweet at all. It's not like a brownie that contains tons of sugar. This cake is just right!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Sorry, I didn't like this cake at all. I baked it at 360 for 55 minutes, and it was dry, dry. Hazelnuts aren't cheap either. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I loved this recipe. Although I do recommend eating it the same day its made. But is was sooo delicous. I will definately make it again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States