Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I'm a well-seasoned baker, but I had major trouble with this recipe. I found it spread much too much, and even with a good serrated knife they were very difficult to cut. After two attempts I'm writing this recipe off as a disaster not worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I love this recipe. These biscotti have been a BIG hit with my friends and family. I have brushed them with semi-sweet chocolate for a dark and rich flavour. I have aslo tried adding cherry extract and snipped and well drained maraschino cherries for a mild 'black forest' effect. The dough is very very sticky, but I found it easier when I added a bit more flour and kept my hands floured. The end result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Because this dough was so sticky I found it was easiest to work w/ when you keep a bowl of water next to you to wet your hands with while you handle it. I combined the dry ingredients first and then mixed in the wet ingredients last & my dough didn't spread out like other reviewers mentioned... it held its shape just fine. I did take it out of the oven after about 20 minutes to cut it and mine didn't crumble on me, but it think if I had left it in for the whole 30 minutes the edges would have started to crumble when cut. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of 2 and it was plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe. I left out the almonds becuase i had everything else on hand, and it was still good. I cooked it 15 minutes one way and 22 longer. They turned out super crisp and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
these are wonderful. For christmas gifts i drizzled white chocolate over them and dipped the ends in chocolate with crushed nuts for the non coffee drinkers.. they are perfect everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jones Landreth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is excellent biscotti! Be sure to spray the counter surface w/ water and wet your hands before handling the sticky dough and rolling it out into a log shape. This is the very best way to do it. Also, do not pat down the "logs" before baking. They will spread out on their own. The recipe is very low fat and a perfect biscotti texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Lady
Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
These were good. The dough is tough to work with - crazy sticky - but cooks up just fine. I had no problem making mine bake up with no burning or excess moisture. I added choc chips - worked just fine. I think next time I'll add more cocoa and perhaps some extra salt to help bring it out. Otherwise everyone liked them and I will definately be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I love this recipe! I have made the biscotti 3 or 4 times for my boyfriend because he is a coffee and chocolate freak and he eats them up every time! I have never added the almonds as I never seem to have any around, but the last time I made these I added about half a bag of chocolate chips to the dough and they turned out extra chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2000
I made these for Christmas and they were elegant, beautiful and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I don't like butter or oil in my biscotti because the more crunchy they are the less likely they are to fall apart in your coffee. Plus, I just mix the ingredients in my food processor, dump the dough on a lightly floured cutting board, pat my hands in flour and shape the loaves. Works great for me also makes the dough more manageable and not so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States