Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
My wife and I like them. I made them once exactly as listed and they were wonderful. The lack of oil in the recipe appealed to me for storage. The second time I made them I used egg whites (like egg beaters) for three of the five eggs. We couldn't tell the difference. Next time, maybe for all the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Very tasty! The dough did seem a bit sticky but dusting it with flour made it a bit less so. I substituted Almond extract for the vanilla. I also dipped the bottom in melted chocolate and drizzled the top with white chocolate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It was SUPER sticky and really hard. Tasted good but would rather find one that doesn't break your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I don't like butter or oil in my biscotti because the more crunchy they are the less likely they are to fall apart in your coffee. Plus, I just mix the ingredients in my food processor, dump the dough on a lightly floured cutting board, pat my hands in flour and shape the loaves. Works great for me also makes the dough more manageable and not so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is excellent biscotti! Be sure to spray the counter surface w/ water and wet your hands before handling the sticky dough and rolling it out into a log shape. This is the very best way to do it. Also, do not pat down the "logs" before baking. They will spread out on their own. The recipe is very low fat and a perfect biscotti texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Lady
Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
i picked this recipie becasue it was simple i left out the almonds because its thanksgiving and i didnt want to run back out to the store. i did however add instant espresso and they are delicious and so easy ! the only reason why im not giving it full stars is because of the stickiness it made it hard to put out into the pan but taste wise they are amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheeksv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I think that there may be a missing wet ingredient, because I ended up with brownies with the grainy consistency of poorly made cornbread. not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohjimmyboy83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
If you're looking for rock-hard, super crunchy, must-be-dipped-in-a-hot-drink biscotti, this is a delicious recipe. If you like to snack on biscotti as plain ol' cookies... not so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I just finished baking a batch and couldn't resist piching off a corner of one. This recipe is, for lack of a better term, DA BOMB! I added a little (approx. 2tblsp) of Carnation milk and 1/4 cup Khalua to the mixture and I substituted pecan instead of almonds. I give it five stars and two thumbs up. The recipe was simple to follow and will truly be a treat for me and my customary night time cup of coffee. I LOVE IT and will defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I had to halve the recipe and once it was done and I bakd it the first time, it actually took longer to bake. I think it must be my oven that had caused it to be underbaked at the 30 minutes that was required. Other than that, it came out delicious! This is a great early start right now for college and waking up at 5 in the morning for it. I will definitely share this recipe with my Chef (I am studying Culinary). I will certainly make it again and share with friends! :3 I like how it wasn't too sweet also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States