Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is excellent biscotti! Be sure to spray the counter surface w/ water and wet your hands before handling the sticky dough and rolling it out into a log shape. This is the very best way to do it. Also, do not pat down the "logs" before baking. They will spread out on their own. The recipe is very low fat and a perfect biscotti texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Lady
Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
i picked this recipie becasue it was simple i left out the almonds because its thanksgiving and i didnt want to run back out to the store. i did however add instant espresso and they are delicious and so easy ! the only reason why im not giving it full stars is because of the stickiness it made it hard to put out into the pan but taste wise they are amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheeksv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I think that there may be a missing wet ingredient, because I ended up with brownies with the grainy consistency of poorly made cornbread. not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohjimmyboy83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
If you're looking for rock-hard, super crunchy, must-be-dipped-in-a-hot-drink biscotti, this is a delicious recipe. If you like to snack on biscotti as plain ol' cookies... not so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I just finished baking a batch and couldn't resist piching off a corner of one. This recipe is, for lack of a better term, DA BOMB! I added a little (approx. 2tblsp) of Carnation milk and 1/4 cup Khalua to the mixture and I substituted pecan instead of almonds. I give it five stars and two thumbs up. The recipe was simple to follow and will truly be a treat for me and my customary night time cup of coffee. I LOVE IT and will defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I had to halve the recipe and once it was done and I bakd it the first time, it actually took longer to bake. I think it must be my oven that had caused it to be underbaked at the 30 minutes that was required. Other than that, it came out delicious! This is a great early start right now for college and waking up at 5 in the morning for it. I will definitely share this recipe with my Chef (I am studying Culinary). I will certainly make it again and share with friends! :3 I like how it wasn't too sweet also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Loved these, though the dough is sticky and hard to work with. Mine spread during baking. I only let them cool 5-10 minutes before cutting..using a pizza cutter as another reviewer recommended (though I didn't add nuts..that might add a different dynamic to how/when you go about cutting them) In the end mine were tasty an rock hard - just what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Because this dough was so sticky I found it was easiest to work w/ when you keep a bowl of water next to you to wet your hands with while you handle it. I combined the dry ingredients first and then mixed in the wet ingredients last & my dough didn't spread out like other reviewers mentioned... it held its shape just fine. I did take it out of the oven after about 20 minutes to cut it and mine didn't crumble on me, but it think if I had left it in for the whole 30 minutes the edges would have started to crumble when cut. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of 2 and it was plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was a great recipe to work with. i didn't have quite all the ingredients, i used almond extract instead of vanilla and skipped the slivered almonds. these were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I've made lots of biscotti and theseare by far the hardest to bite into. Very crunchy and not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertdessert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orondo, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States