Chocolate Beer Cupcakes With Whiskey Filling And Irish Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I did the cupcakes exactly like you said in the original recipe but I did notice the center feeling was a bit then so I cooked it just as long as it said to but then I put it in the freezer for a little bit so it would for him up a little more so I can fill the cup cakes. I then added the caramel ice cream topping with the Baileys and the sea salt on top as a drizzle for the frosting like Jacqueline posted and folks thought that they were amazing! The next morning I'm microwaved one for about 8 seconds .... pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Didn't have the Irish whiskey, so made the cupcakes without filling. Amazing flavor and they stayed incredibly moist. Nice perk, I was able to use stout from a new local brewery. May have to make them again, just to share with the crew there (sounds like a good enough excuse to me! ??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I actually made this into a two layer cake instead of cupcakes and it was delicious. I filled the layers with cream cheese frosting and then covered the cake in ganache. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This was absolutely delicious and rich. I made almost exactly as the recipe with just a little extra Baileys in the Icing and I used Kahula in the filling instead of the Irish Whiskey(only because I did not have it on hand). This is now a welcome addition to my permanent recipe box. Thanks so much, Happy St. Patricks Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These were BIG hit with everyone who tried them! I've made them twice, using Guinness the first time and a chocolate stout the second and both were delicious. I increased the whiskey to 2 tablespoons for the filling and it was just enough to give a noticeable flavor. I doubled the frosting but you really need 1 1/2 batches to ice them well. I had no problems with consistency that other viewers reported and used a cookie press to apply the icing. Don't be intimidated by the time: Most of it is 'wait time'--waiting for the cupcakes to bake, then cool and the filling to cool. While the cupcakes are baking make the filling to give it a chance to cool and save a little time. NOTE: the filling must really come to room temp to thicken up; this takes a while. I found the cupcakes didn't rise as well the first time, but my daughter used foil cupcake liners and later read these may be the reason. No problem the second time using paper liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made these and was wowed! Everyone loved them and I have been asked to make more. I made no adjustments to them but the advice to increase the amount of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made these without the filling to keep them kid friendly. They were wonderful but they were way underdone at 17 min. I cooked them for s total of 22 min before the toothpick was clean. Honestly, they tasted almost exactly like Duncan Heinz devil's food cake. You could use the mix and substitute Guinness for the water. The frosting was amazing and I would recommend using it with any cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made these for a party today and boy what a treat everyone raved about them . I did change the icing a little bit I doubled the batch but added 1 1/2 cups of butter extra baileys and only 4 cups of powder sugar and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skwerl81
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This recipe was delicious! I think I would still give it 5 stars the way it was, but I made some tiny adjustments that I thought I'd share… I really wanted the cupcakes to have a subtle alcohol flavor, so after I baked, cooled, and cored them, I put together some Baileys & Jameson in a glass and used a small brush to brush it across cupcakes. I think this really helped with that flavor in the end. I also read reviews about trouble with the frosting… I kind of winged it, but instead of using all butter, I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 cream cheese (and yes, you will likely need 1.5x the amount stated in the recipe), and mixed for a 6-7 mins to achieve fluffiness. I put in several tbsp of Bailey's, and then added powdered sugar until I reached a nice consistency – I believe I ended up adding 3-4 cups. Final result was creamy, thick, and not overly sweet. One last thing: my filling came out pretty thick, so I ended up with a big chunk of really sweet, rich chocolate ganache in the middle of the cupcake. I happened to like it, but my roommate thought it was a bit much since it wasn't really evenly distributed. Next time, I might experiment with putting a layer of the filling on top of the cupcake, rather than inside it, before frosting it – assuming that it still comes out just as thick next time. That way, it's almost like a "base layer" of frosting, and you end up with a little mouthful in each bite. Ultimately, will depend on the thickness, I think. All in all, worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Good batter recipe, very fluffy with just enough stout flavor. Mine took a bit longer to bake - about 20 minutes. I made a different filling and frosting so I can't comment on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States