Chocolate Beer Cupcakes With Whiskey Filling And Irish Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Oh my goodness! So delicious, moist, and full of chocolatey yumminess. Made the batter as directed. Made the chocolate filling as directed. The frosting was made with a maple liqeur, as I didn't have Irish Cream, but it was fantastic. Thank you for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this recipe for a friend's birthday, and everyone loved it! They were some of the richest, tastiest cupcakes I've ever had. The only suggestion I would make to anyone who wants to make this recipe is to double the amount of frosting you make, or multiply it by 1.5, at least, in order to be able to use the amount shown in the photo. I always like to have plenty of frosting, so I know I won't run out. Would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This frosting is amazing and carries the rest of the cupcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
These are called Irish car bomb cupcakes. Better without the sour cream in them. And not as much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballmomnva
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made these over the weekend and brought them in for my office for St. Patty's Day and everyone loved them! They are moist and flavorful! You definitely need to double the frosting recipe if you are using the large decorator tip and piping the frosting onto the cupcakes. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect! Will definitely make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Oh my word! Best cupcakes ever. Perfect flavor pairings! Had to stop myself from eating the whole batch. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made these just as a chocolate cupcake without the filling and frosting. They came out nice and moist. I used Guinness Draught beer. They were very easy to make. I thought with 2 cups of sugar they would be overly sweet but not at all. I got 24 cupcakes. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Dusty
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Loved this Recipe!!! I made them for st. patricks day and everyone loved them. I added a little more alcohol just because I wanted my guest to be able to really taste it. I also had some filling left over so I dipped strawberries into it and put them in the fridge for my guest. I also drizzled the leftover filling on top! (pics submitted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very different and fun for St Patrick's Day. I made as shown in the recipe. As many others said, make 1.5-2x the frosting, especially if frosting with a piping bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brebes4
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The cake is delicious. I didn't have sour cream, so I used a toasted vanilla coconut full fat Greek yogurt. That was my only modification to the cake. I did not make the center this time around - didn't have any whiskey (blasphemy, I know!). Next time I will try to get my hands on some. The frosting recipe made enough for all of my cupcakes and then some. It was very sweet so I only put a thin layer on the tops, but it was thick enough that you couldn't see cupcake underneath. I was a little disappointed because I read the reviews saying there wasn't enough for all the cakes, and was looking forward to some unfrosted cakes. The only change I made was to add enough Irish cream to make it smooth, maybe a splash or two more. FYI, these cakes expanded a lot in the oven. If you are using cupcake liners on a regular baking sheet, err on the side of caution and leave a good amount of room between the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States