Chocolate Bar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent, but remember if you used Cool Whip, you are adding sugar to the recipe. If you used whipping cream, you probably don't add any sugar to it, and maybe that's why it might have seemed sweet to those who used Cool Whip instead. Just a guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I was in the mood to make a dessert for dinner tonight, so I went to the pantry to see what was calling out to me. I had a graham cracker crust that had been in there awhile, and really needed to be used up. So, I did an ingredient search for graham cracker crust . . . I was also looking for a "faceless" recipe (one without a photo). This one fit the bill! I didn't exactly have all of the ingredients that it called for, so I had to improvise! The chocolate bars is what I was missing, but I did have a handful of Hershey's hugs (left over from making pretzel smoochies), some M&Ms and a bowl of chocolate that was left over from my Christmas baking. I weighed out the chocolate to come out the same as if I had the candy bars, and it turned out WONDERFUL! The red & pink M&Ms initially turned the chocolate a funky color, but as soon as they melted, it was fine. I topped it with a few slivered almonds and some chocolate shavings. Thanks for this quick and easy pie recipe! One I'll be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Shut the front door. This is amazing!! Used plain Hershey's bars and Cool Whip instead of heavy cream. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I have literally made hundreds of recipes from this site and this is by far my favorite. This pie is OUTSTANDING!!! I followed the recipe to a "T" using chocolate bars w/o the almonds and made the graham cracker crust from scratch (so easy and worth it)--to die for! Please make this and enjoy it as much as we did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very easy and delicious, I used candy bars with toasted rice in them and a handful of chocolate chips and the kids were pushing and shoving to get the last piece. the adults loved it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Wonderful! I made it "mocha" by dissolving a tablespoon of instant coffee in 1 1/2 tsp water. I added it into the melting chocolate/marshmallow mixture. It wasn't overwhelming, just a nice coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyliss H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made this because I was looking for an easy pie to make. It was extremely easy. It was also extremely sweet! Maybe some whipped cream on top would cut the sweetness some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy recipe and very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I've made this with regular chocolate bars and cool whip and it's good but SWEET! Our favorite is to substitute 1/2 dark chocolate and use heavy whipping cream. Rich and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bardstown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States