Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I made a half batch of this recipe and eliminated the water. I used half a bag of dark chocolate chips and 1/2 bag of semi sweet chips. Kids and adults enjoyed it and the chocolate coated various fruits, marshmallows and pretzels nicely. Great flavor! I put the excess in a glass dish and topped it with nuts and heath brittle and put it in the fridge. Once it cooled it was like a cross between a chocolate bar and fudge and every bit as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow.... will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I usually don't review recipes if I don't make them exactly as written, but I feel that this one deserves a shout-out. I didn't add the coffee due to my own dislike of coffee flavor, and used Ghiradelli milk chocolate chips instead of grated chocolate. I also left out the hot water because of other reviews, and it was the perfect thickness for dipping. Simplest fondue I've ever made, and delicious. Served with strawberries, bananas, rice krispy treats, and angelfood cake, and kept warm in a mini slow cooker since I don't own a fondue pot. Also, I mixed the leftovers with walnut pieces and refrigerated in a 8x8 pan for fudge-like bars. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very easy and tasty. I made it for Valentine's day and my boyfriend and I loved it. I used chocolate chips like some of the other reviewers (spent a little more for Ghirardelli and used 2 bags of bittersweet, one bag of milk because we prefer dark chocolate). We both preferred fruit and pretzels as dippers to cake and vanilla wafers (too sweet). And yes, it makes A LOT. If I made this again for 2-6 people, I would halve the recipe. One reviewer suggested making truffles out of the leftovers, which sounds like a great idea but I haven't tried it. Bought a tiny crock pot at a thrift store for the occasion, so I'll probably making this again -- it would be great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I love this recipe however the proportions are insane. We use less than a quarter of this recipe and we're a large family of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Easy recipe with great results. I made it in my fondue pot, and used Homestead Buttermilk instead of heavy cream. I also premixed my water and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
very good and very easy. used 1/3 cup coffee instead of instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Just made this for our anniversary celebration. : ) Yummy! He's going to love this! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I halved the recipe for 4 people and there was plenty leftover. It was delicious and easy to make but couldn't taste the coffee, which one guest appreciated. I used chopped milk chocolate bars instead of grated chocolate, melted with cream in glass bowl over boiling water, served in fondue pot. Froze leftovers to reuse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbturner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Excellent! And note, this recipe makes 48 servings! Which came out to just under 2 litres. And you don't really need the sugar if you use semi-sweet or sweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States