Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I did this in a small crock pot which elimimated the need to grate the chocolate - a real time saver. Turn it on low for about 1 hour with all the ingredients. I omitted the sugar and didn't miss it. It was the hit at my New Year's Eve party. I served it with frozen pound cake (it holds it's shape better when frozen), fresh strawberries, and canned pineapple chunks. Fortunately, I doubled the receipe! It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
As others said, it was a lot like work to grate the chocolate. So after doing one bar with the grater, I put the rest in the food processor. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this exactly as written, and it was excellent! Rivals the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was so great! I used 3 bags of 60% dark chocolate chips, and it was a little too dark for some of the kids, but the grown-ups loved it. I may add one bag of milk chocolate chips next time. I didn't do a good job of melting the chocolate. It got all clumped up, but with a LOT of stirring and adding more whipping cream, it smoothed out, and was delicious. We dipped fresh fruit, pound cake, and marshmallows. Will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I used this recipe and it was LOVED by everyone. I omitted the water ( as was suggested) by other users but had it in a chocolate fountain. I will definitely add the water next time. If it was in a normal fondue pot-- the consistency would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Great flavor. I cut the recipe in half. Omitted the coffee powder and water and just used brewed coffee. The melted chocolate was thin so I'd probably leave out the water/coffee next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful fondue. Delicious and EASY. I used instant cappuccino mix instead of the coffee granules and still used the water. I kept wisking it in the pot while cooking and it was SMOOTH. The kids loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
incredible! i made this a half recipe and there was plenty. i also skipped adding the coffee and its was perfect. the perfect consistency andflavor. we dipped bananas, strawberries, pinapple, brownies, angle food cake and marshmallows. i will sooo make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I halved the recipe and had lots for a smaller crowd (5 adults, 4 kids). I didn't use the coffee and used light cream, 2/3 milk chocolate, 1/3 semi-sweet chocolate (Callebaut chocolate I found in the bulk food aisle). I made it on the stove and then split it into 2 fondue pots and as another reviewer mentioned I added a couple tbsp Bailey's to the grown-up pot. Dipped pieces of shortbread cookies (huge hit), chunks of marzipan, macadamia nuts and lots of fruit (raspberries, strawberries, dried cherries, mandarin slices). The next day I made pannekoeken (dutch pancakes) and spread the left over fondue (it melted nicely on the hot pancakes) and bananas. Both uses were delicious and a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thamesford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe was so easy and soooo good. It was my first time making fondue, and it came out great! I used brewed coffee instead of instant, as one review suggested, and it was great. My boyfriend, who doesn't care much for dessert, raved about this! I definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States