Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent and easy recipe for fondue. Had girlfriends over for fondue night and they also loved it. Used leftover brewed coffee (1/3 C.) instead of the coffee powder and didn't add the water. Dipped pound cake, strawberries, marshmallows, green apples, pretzels, and Ruffles - success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Sooo good! I used half dark chocolate and half milk chocolate, and I also only used half the coffee powder. It was FANTASIC! I used pound cake, strawberries, raspberries, bananas, pretzel sticks, and potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
had this without the instant coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I altered the recipe a bit, as suggested by another reviewer, using 2 bags of milk chocolate chips to 1 bag of semi-sweet and leaving out the 1/3 cup of water (just used enough water to dissolve the instant coffee). Not only did this make GREAT fondue, but it sets up just like fudge. So now this is also my go-to fudge recipe, so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used chocolate chips, omitted the water and added 1/2 shot of espresso instead of the instant coffee. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe was great. I also did chocolate chips instead of grating and omitted the coffee. Half the recipe was enough for 6 people. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Used the leftovers for chocolate covered pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
LOVED IT!!! The only change was what another user (NEWLYWEDS1) suggested - I replaced the instant coffee with 1/3 cup of strong coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this for New Year's Eve and it was fantastic! I made the entire thing in my slow cooker. Everything melted just fine and had a nice creamy consistency. I did omit the sugar as it was already sweet enough. We used pretzels, pound cake, oreos, strawberries and bananas for dipping. This recipe does make a huge amount so keep that in mind. We had a good bit left over but it does make a great ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
As a fondue, I'd have to say that I wasn't overly impressed - which is why I rated it a 3. It was good, but nothing spectacular. However, I noted that many other reviewers made truffles with the leftovers and I have to say, that as a truffle center - this was absolutely AMAZING! I rolled them into 1-inch balls, froze them for an hour or so then made a coating (16 oz chocolate chips & 3 tbls shortening, melted) to dip them in. Everyone LOVED them - even a co-worker who isn't really into sweets raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States