Chocolate Bar Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I tried this recipe out the night I got my chocolate fountain... With some of the other raters saying that it was a bit thin, I thought it would be great for the fountain... especially since the person who posted this put up a picture of the chocolate fondue in a fountain. I tried this (left out the coffee), and it was very good. Only problem was that it was too thick and i had to add almost 2 cups of oil for it to properly run through my fountain. (I halved the recipe and needed to add almost 2 cups of oil.) It was good but I was disappointed that I had to add that much oil, which then took away the good chocolate flavor.. If anyone has a good suggestion, please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I halved the recipe and it was enough for a potluck party of around 15 people. So easy and so tasty. I used semi-sweet chips and used brown sugar, kaluha, and instant coffee powder. Delicious with pound cake, strawberries, apples, marshmallows and bananas. Reheated in microwave and poured into mini-crockpot. Warm up the crockpot to keep the chocolate liquid but unplug it or it will burn (for the pots without dials).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Yummy! Used high-end chocolate (French truffles that were melted in the bag :( ). Didn't have heavy cream so I just used milk (I just put in one cup of milk and about a pound of chocolate). The coffee (used decaf) definitely added awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Holey moley, my thumb almost fell off from all that grating! I almost couldn't do it by myself. But the product was nice. We were 11 girls with lots of leftovers. I would say this is perfect for 15-16 people (or more if you've already filled up on a big dinner)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Very good. I used a local chocolatier's milk chocolate bark and it was fantastic. We made it for valentine's day and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Leong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicous and easy! I omitted the water per other reviewers and used decaf coffee because of a kiddo. Also I halved the recipe and still had left overs after serving 3. Used pound cake, strawberries, and marshmellows. I would suggest putting cake in the fridge or freezer before serving to keep it from falling apart in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I made this for the first time for a dinner party of 10 guests and everyone raved! Only substitution was instant espresso instead of instant coffee. Served fondue with grahm crackers, marshmellows, angelfood cake, bananas, strawberries and grapes. So good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Very good. For dipping, we used green and red apples, orange sections, strawberries and angel food cake. I used brewed coffee instead of instant coffee. I should have added more (I used 2 tbsp, next time I'll try 1/4 to 1/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I halfed this recipe and used all the ingredients (including the coffee!). This recipe is so fantastic...I think I am addicted and looking for an excuse to make it again. I made it for a small baby shower and it was the pefect dessert and activity for the girls to do while sipping wine and catching up. I served pineapples, strawberries, pretzel rods, bananas, chocolate chip and oreo cookies. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was an incredibly easy fondue to make. I completely omitted the coffee, and I added a bit more sugar to make it sweeter. I halved the recipe, but still had a ton left over so I used someone's suggestion and made truffles - a bonus second dessert from the same recipe! I will definitely use this the next time I need chocolate fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States