Chocolate Banana Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My husband declared this pie to be too sweet. I agree, and think that 1/2 sugar added to the whipping cream is not necessary, and actually feels a bit gritty. If I make it again I will either cut the white sugar out completely or reduce it by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I substituted fat free whipped topping and omitted the pecans and it is setting in the fridge now. I KNOW this is going to be good and so EASY. This will be a keeper! It is very good, however the cream cheese was a little over-powering, next time will use 1/2 the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian_Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
AMAZING! We have a baking competition going on at work and this won! Will make time and time again. And it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I didn't follow the exact recipe since I was making this for a friend (who can't have gluten) and myself (slightly diabetic). The crust was made from crushed gluten-free pecan cookies, similar to a graham cracker crust. I used 40% less fat cream cheese with Splenda instead of confectioner's sugar and fat-free, no-sugar Jello instant chocolate pudding. I also cut the white sugar in half for the whipped cream. Bake the crust, cool, spread the cream cheese mixture, bananas, chocolate pudding, whipped cream, more bananas, chocolate pudding, whipped cream. Refrigerate overnight then decorate with whole pecans and whipped cream rosettes. People often "rave" about my cooking and baking (they seem to do this especially since I'm male) but this was one of my best desserts. I will be serving this again in a few weeks at my daughter's wedding rehearsal dinner. It was that good! For the rehearsal dinner I intend on making it in 9 x 13" pans rather than in pie form, just to be able to serve more people. Try this dessert, the original or my variation, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seelymo
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I used the Sweetened Whipped Cream recipe from this site for the whipped cream part and followed its instruction to a T. I also waited till the next day before I topped with whipped cream right before serving. I only did one layer of banana and whipped cream because the pie shell was already getting full, but still used all the ingredients. This is a very yummy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very good, but maybe storebought whipped cream would have worked, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I can't get over how good this pie is! And it's soooo easy. I made one on Weds for Thanksgiving dinner yesterday and everyone was raving about it; needless to say there were no leftovers. I followed the other reviewers suggestions and didn't put whip on top until just prior to serving. Also used already prepared belgian chocolate pudding instead of the boxed kind. This will be a staple in my dessert recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This pie is a yummy treat for a hot summer day! I wanted something really light so I used homemade chocolate mousse instead of pudding. I layered the mousse after the cream cheese layer, then whipped cream, bananas, more mousse and then more whipped cream. That way there was one more chocolate layer than the recipe called for : ) I really like the lightness of the mousse along with the whipped cream. I didn't use pecans on top. This pie may be good slightly frozen too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This pie is so good. People at my work said it was the best dessert I ever made and I am going to school for baking. I had a little problem with the whipped topping being the right consistency so I had to fold in some chocolate frozen whipped topping I had. This might certainly be a problem with and not the recipe, but all it says is "whip the cream and 1/2 sugar, doesn't say how long this will take and I couldn't get it to whip no matter how long I left it. Still turned out so good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Great pie!! My entire family LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States