Chocolate Banana Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Love, love, love! There is nothing better than "from scratch". I did hold off on the sugar from the batter and frosting (just a little), and you can't even tell, it's perfect, oh and I also only used one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Turned this recipe into cupcakes, and it turned out great! The frosting was a little sweet, but the cake was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This turned out awesome!! Will definitely make again! I will also use this frosting recipe for other cakes--it was a huge hit with my son and husband. They wanted to eat the frosting by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Mmm... this was sooo good! I have always loved bananas and chocolate together and it just tastes so perfect. My family literally licked the pan clean in about a week or two! Soo freakin' good! You just have to try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is very good! Try it with fluffy peanut butter frosting instead of this frosting, if you like peanut butter. When I do this, I usually decorate it will Reese's pieces. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe substituting the butter for pureed avocado. The cake came out very dense but moist and delicious. I tried the recipe again with some changes in hopes to make it fluffier. I sifted all the dry ingredients together. I separated the eggs, mixing in the yolks at the time when the recipe called for the eggs. I beat the whites into a nice fluff and folded them in at the end before pouring into the pans. I also used sugar in the raw and decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup. The new cake was less dense but still not as fluffy as I would like. It was well received and I have no leftovers. I also added some pureed banana to the frosting recipe (keep in mind that adding the banana required I add more confectioners’ sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shimmering
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made this for my hubby on his birthday and he loved it. The cake itself is awesome. It came out moist and tender. I took out 1 star for frosting because I didn't like its tangy taste. But this was the first time I had ever tasted cream cheese frosting.So it might just be me. So I added a little bit of melted chocolate and some more sugar to the frosting to make it more sweet. Also a TIP for adding bananas. Layer them just before you eat. Also don't leave the cake outside for long. Otherwise the bananas leave water and the layers will slide. Mine did the same thing. And I kind of didn't like the flavor of the softened bananas. Next time I think I ll add the banana cut up fresh while serving. But overall a very good tasting cake. Thanks Bakerbee and Aunt Lu :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I fixed this cake for my birthday and it turned out great!! The bananas weren't too overpowering And everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My review is for the cake only, which I made into cupcakes The cake is delicious, subtly chocolate, more boldly banana flavored, but there's no mistaking either. Moist, soft and fluffy, milk chocolate in color. I had nothing against the frosting - it's just that I had a request from the recipients for something deeply chocolate, which I accommodated with the more robustly chocolate "Best Chocolate Frosting," also from this site. It was the perfect choice for these cupcakes, a bold counterpoint for the milder cake. One half recipe yielded one dozen cupcakes, which I baked 20-22 minutes. Great recipe, but not as good with the directions, so here goes: sift the dry ingredients together and set aside. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition, then the vanilla. Add the bananas. Add the flour mixture in three additions, alternately with the buttermilk , beginning and ending with the flour. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The texture was off on these, but it was my fault since I added Greek yogurt to the mix. The mixture just was to thick for me so i added extra milk as well. Good banana flavor with a hint of chocolate. Made into cupcakes and frosted with regular cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States