Chocolate Banana Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My review is for the cake only, which I made into cupcakes The cake is delicious, subtly chocolate, more boldly banana flavored, but there's no mistaking either. Moist, soft and fluffy, milk chocolate in color. I had nothing against the frosting - it's just that I had a request from the recipients for something deeply chocolate, which I accommodated with the more robustly chocolate "Best Chocolate Frosting," also from this site. It was the perfect choice for these cupcakes, a bold counterpoint for the milder cake. One half recipe yielded one dozen cupcakes, which I baked 20-22 minutes. Great recipe, but not as good with the directions, so here goes: sift the dry ingredients together and set aside. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition, then the vanilla. Add the bananas. Add the flour mixture in three additions, alternately with the buttermilk , beginning and ending with the flour. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I fixed this cake for my birthday and it turned out great!! The bananas weren't too overpowering And everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved the idea. Don't know what I did wrong, but this was not only too strong of a banana flavor, but it was also way too heavy of a cake when I made it........ ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe substituting the butter for pureed avocado. The cake came out very dense but moist and delicious. I tried the recipe again with some changes in hopes to make it fluffier. I sifted all the dry ingredients together. I separated the eggs, mixing in the yolks at the time when the recipe called for the eggs. I beat the whites into a nice fluff and folded them in at the end before pouring into the pans. I also used sugar in the raw and decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup. The new cake was less dense but still not as fluffy as I would like. It was well received and I have no leftovers. I also added some pureed banana to the frosting recipe (keep in mind that adding the banana required I add more confectioners’ sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Love, love, love! There is nothing better than "from scratch". I did hold off on the sugar from the batter and frosting (just a little), and you can't even tell, it's perfect, oh and I also only used one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Turned this recipe into cupcakes, and it turned out great! The frosting was a little sweet, but the cake was just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I liked this pretty well, i think i would like better, even without the Chocolate, and husband and 14 year old said it would be better without Banana. So neat recipe, all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is very good! Try it with fluffy peanut butter frosting instead of this frosting, if you like peanut butter. When I do this, I usually decorate it will Reese's pieces. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The texture was off on these, but it was my fault since I added Greek yogurt to the mix. The mixture just was to thick for me so i added extra milk as well. Good banana flavor with a hint of chocolate. Made into cupcakes and frosted with regular cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This turned out awesome!! Will definitely make again! I will also use this frosting recipe for other cakes--it was a huge hit with my son and husband. They wanted to eat the frosting by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States