Chocolate Banana French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is fantastic! What a great idea, I can't believe I never thought about making this! I have a three year old and I'm always looking for new breakfast ideas. She isn't big on banana so it was a great way to introduce the flavor to her. Instead of adding sliced strawberry on top I just made a sauce out of them and added crushed walnuts on top. She loved it and actually asked for a second helping, that never happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
The taste was nice but not very chocolatey. The banana sort of blocked out it out. Was good anyway and will probably make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I used the immersion blender to pulverize the mashed bananas into the eggs and milk. For the chocolate milk, I just mixed some light chocolate syrup that I had in the fridge into skim milk. I had a loaf of unsliced bread and sliced it thick, like Texas toast. Definitely could taste both the banana and chocolate flavors, enhanced by the sliced bananas when serving. The only negative for me is the color. The chocolate makes the bread really dark (almost looking burned), so it's not so appealing to the eye. But we love french toast, enjoyed this version, and we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I stuck the eggs, milk and some really chocolate-y milk in the blender and let it blend until uniform and frothy as to really get the bananas infused into the other ingredients. I fried each piece in a little butter in my cast iron skillet. I did not try this myself but the husband and kids liked it. They must have, they ate every single piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Adjusted the recipe for 4 servings, did not like it very much. Could not taste the chocolate flavor and crushing the bananas into the egg mixture caused the banana batter to burn when cooking. May try again but will slice the bananas on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Delicious! This was a proved to be a nice spin on an old favorite. I love french toast and this was a very tasty new way to prepare it especially with a combination of chocolate and banana. I cut the recipe in half to give it a try and am glad I did. I used thick cut Texas toast and all I added was a cinnamon and vanilla extract to the egg mixture. When these were nice and crispy I dusted them with powdered sugar, a dollup of butter, sliced bananas and drizzled some real maple syrup over top - a really nice treat for breakfast with a glass of OJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe is perfect for a fun family breakfast. It is easy to make and a hit with the kids. Also we used cinammon spiced apples to add a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Amazing! You cannot start a Saturday off better than that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States