Chocolate Banana Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
A delihtful change from regular banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Deanne
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made it just like the recipe and it was delicious, thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Loved by all. I made several modifications to fit our family's needs. First, I reduced the amount of shredded coconut to 1 cup. I also used a large package of vanilla instant pudding (5 ounces) and used 2 cups of milk to be in proportion with the pudding. For the chocolate, I found that we had no squares, so I used semisweet chocolate chips (1/2 cup). Finally, instead of putting the whipped cream on before refrigerating, I put on a dollop as I served each piece. However, I don't think that the whipped cream (or Cool Whip) is absolutely necessary if you are looking to cut a few calories. This is a great recipe and by far the best banana cream pie recipe I have ever had. The chocolate layer adds a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Came out soupy for the 1st take. Second take- I added more bananas and tried to make the vanilla pudding a little thicker. Looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious, quick, and easy! I like using an Oreo Crust and doubling the chocolate. Also, Banana Cream Pie Pudding mix makes this extra yummy! I'm not a super fan of coconut, so I usually just leave it out. I made this for a yummy summer treat at the lake and my aunt couldn't stop helping herself to this scrumptious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I did use white chocolate pudding instead of vanilla simply because it was what I had available. A hit at our house! And so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Okay, so this pie was literally gone within 10 minutes of it leaving the fridge. I barely got a slice of this masterpiece! I only did one thing differently: I doubled the amount of chocolate in the bottom because it just didn't seem like enough. It turned out perfect after I did that, and it also set very well, not a single slice broke. Everyone loved it and I got the golden compliment of approval from my grandmother and mother. With this pie, I finally earned my place among the women in my family who know how to cook like pros. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I cant imagine why anyone wouldnt love this. I used a Marie Calander frozen pie crust -excellent. Added a little extra chocolate and a touch of dark rum; maybe a 1/2 tsp....It really added nice flavor. Extra Bananas. White chocolate pudding, because thats all I had on hand, and toasted the coconut. On a side note; I refrigerated pudding so it would thicken up and then added coconut in with a wire wisk. I used only 1c of coconut in the pie and topped it off with remaining...Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is not my favorite, but everyone liked it. I took the advice of other reviewers and added more chocolate and if I make this again I will double up on the bananas because as the recipe is written it mostly tasted like pudding and could use more bananas for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joeday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States