Chocolate Banana Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Loved by all. I made several modifications to fit our family's needs. First, I reduced the amount of shredded coconut to 1 cup. I also used a large package of vanilla instant pudding (5 ounces) and used 2 cups of milk to be in proportion with the pudding. For the chocolate, I found that we had no squares, so I used semisweet chocolate chips (1/2 cup). Finally, instead of putting the whipped cream on before refrigerating, I put on a dollop as I served each piece. However, I don't think that the whipped cream (or Cool Whip) is absolutely necessary if you are looking to cut a few calories. This is a great recipe and by far the best banana cream pie recipe I have ever had. The chocolate layer adds a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Came out soupy for the 1st take. Second take- I added more bananas and tried to make the vanilla pudding a little thicker. Looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious, quick, and easy! I like using an Oreo Crust and doubling the chocolate. Also, Banana Cream Pie Pudding mix makes this extra yummy! I'm not a super fan of coconut, so I usually just leave it out. I made this for a yummy summer treat at the lake and my aunt couldn't stop helping herself to this scrumptious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I did use white chocolate pudding instead of vanilla simply because it was what I had available. A hit at our house! And so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Okay, so this pie was literally gone within 10 minutes of it leaving the fridge. I barely got a slice of this masterpiece! I only did one thing differently: I doubled the amount of chocolate in the bottom because it just didn't seem like enough. It turned out perfect after I did that, and it also set very well, not a single slice broke. Everyone loved it and I got the golden compliment of approval from my grandmother and mother. With this pie, I finally earned my place among the women in my family who know how to cook like pros. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I cant imagine why anyone wouldnt love this. I used a Marie Calander frozen pie crust -excellent. Added a little extra chocolate and a touch of dark rum; maybe a 1/2 tsp....It really added nice flavor. Extra Bananas. White chocolate pudding, because thats all I had on hand, and toasted the coconut. On a side note; I refrigerated pudding so it would thicken up and then added coconut in with a wire wisk. I used only 1c of coconut in the pie and topped it off with remaining...Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is not my favorite, but everyone liked it. I took the advice of other reviewers and added more chocolate and if I make this again I will double up on the bananas because as the recipe is written it mostly tasted like pudding and could use more bananas for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joeday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Delicious. Mine never really setup. Its entirely possible this is because I left out the coconut. It just sounded like too many flavors. Instead I did 1 layer of banana slices and then mashed the rest (about 1 & 1/2 bananas) and stirred that into the pudding mixture. Its absolutely delicious pie soup. 3 stars, to be revised later after attempting a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
this is SO delicious! i have made it 3 times and every single time, it disappears so fast! everyone loves this pie. made it for my boyfriend and his mother and they enjoyed it as well! I HIGHLY recommend you make this pie!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ioniafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States