Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Followed recipe 32 minutes in a 13x9pan. DRY. Not at all like the chocolate cherry pie filling cake! Have to turn it into a truffle or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Outstanding if you like bananas! I read reviews and increased mashed bananas to 1 1/2c and oil to 1/2c. Whipped it well in the blender. Very nice and fluffy, flavorful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I think if the ingredients on the box needed to be followed , then the rest of the ingredients added , that should have been stated. It was a bit dry. Had good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Delicious, moist. Follow this recipe not box. I made it as a layer cake,put cool whip with fresh banana and strawberry slices in center and more cool whip and fresh fruit slices to top. Then milk chocolate shavings on top. My family has a new birthday cake favorite. I used a little more mashed banana and about a 1/4 cup water to batter. Was perfect. Not too sweet,tastes a little like chocolate banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by idrinknyquil
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These were delicious! I used a box of Betty Crocker's Triple Fudge Cake mix and 3 ripe bananas. This recipe made 30 cupcakes. The cake itself is light in flavor, yet perfectly moist and beyond appetizing. MAKE THE CAKE MIX PER BOX INSTRUCTIONS. A very important step I think a lot of bad reviewers forewent. Excellent with this frosting: 2 cups powder sugar, 2 tablespoons cocoa powder, 2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter and 4 tablespoons milk blend well and frost away. I made these for my son's birthday and they were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idrinknyquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
so moist and so yummy. i'll definitely make these again. i put a creamy rich chocolate icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Merolla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
i made the recipe as is listed but added an extra banana. awesome moist cake i also made a chocolate frosting to drizzle over. super yummy i have added this to my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Wonderful cake when you're in a hurry. I subbed an extra banana for the oil. Frosted the cake with a combo of dry sugar-free banana pudding and fat-free chocolate Cool Whip and kept it refrigerated until ready to serve. I imagine you could do the same with a from-scratch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I should have read more reviews before I made this cake because mine is dry and doesn't taste good at all. And I did use a name brand devils food cake mix. I'm not trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kruse
Home Town: Herman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
A wonderful cupcake! I added 3 bananas to a measuring cup and added water until it reached the amount that was listed on the mix and then I added a cup of chopped chocolate chips, both were suggested by another member (she used mini chips, but I didn't have any) FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withHisgrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States