Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I really like banana cake with chocolate frosting. I thought I'd like this about as much, but didn't. 'Wasn't crazy about the cocoa in the bread; like the idea of the chips though. They were chocolate-candy-ish-tasting. Again, thought I'd like, but didn't. Sooo, pretty good bread, but didn't wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
a decadent delight. Must try with ice cream and maybe whipped cream. . A banana split
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is just Awesome....I DONT LIKE BANANAS but do like the bread. But this is way better. with or without nut's. I will try with adding more chips or add white chips to zucchini bread this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I have used this recipe several times and each time I have been told, "This is the BEST banana bread EVER", "This is the most moist banana bread I have ever tasted", "This bread is amazing"; to name a few. The comments that it is gooey and it takes longer to bake than the directions indicate, should take in account that with any baking there are several variables, oven, altitude, ripeness of the bananas, etc. Use the one hour as a benchmark. I have found it takes between an hour and 1 hour 15 minutes. Don't forget to do the toothpick test. Also, if you don't want chocolate taste in your banana bread. Don't make "Chocolate Banana Bread" and stick with the standard banana bread recipe. If I could give this over 5 stars I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Jaye Highfill
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I think this is a good recipe. Mine turned out to be a bit chewy on the outside (and perfectly moist on the inside), but I read online that it could be my greasing method (margarine) or over-mixing. I did have to bake the two loaves for 80 minutes total. I don't think it is too sweet, though, it is certainly dessert-worthy. I would like to try adding salt and cinnamon next time. I'm not convinced the chocolate is the best, but I was more making it for others to enjoy, so hopefully they will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe tastes wonderful. I made it in one bundt & cooked for 120 minutes. Overcooked on edges, but moist on the inside. I will warn you this recipe yields two bundts or three loaves. If you want a smaller portion, cut the recipe in half. Cooking bundt for 90 minutes is too much. I suggest 60 & check every 5 minutes until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very moist, tasty recipe. I added an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
i just made this bread and it's delicious !! i love it.. i used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and it's already sweet, and i add 1/2 cup dry non fat milk because i love milk flavor. and as other review said, i used bundt cake pan and it turns out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe rocks! I had a work dessert party and it was a hit. I added about 3/4 cup walnuts to it, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love this recipe! all leftover bananas go in freezer in anticipation of making this! Only change I've ever made is Hershey's special dark cocoa, as I had 4 tubs of it. This bread gets rave reviews and anyone who has tasted it wants the recipe!!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States