Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great recipe! Like Kchoskins I added a tsp and a half of cinnamon and a tsp of salt. I also substituted applesauce for half of the Margarine and Butter for the other half. I used Splenda/Brown Sugar mix instead of white sugar, (lets me, a pre-diabetic, enjoy the Banana Bread as well. And, I added two bananas more because I had them. Guess I don't understand the reviewer who gave the recipe two stars because he/she doesn't like the combination of chocolate and bananas. The answer seems obvious, don't make it! But giving it a poor rating because of individual taste differences hardly seems fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Everyone in my house loved this. I lightened up the recipe by using nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt in place of the butter and sour cream, stevia for half the sugar, and two egg whites for each of the whole eggs. Mini chocolate chips and a bit extra cocoa powder. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is one of my goto recipes. Unless there's a dietary restriction, I'm morally against all things 'light' and have always used full fat sour cream. My loaves and 'muffins' produce equally lovely results. The recipe is large so, if possible, use a 5qt mixing bowl or bigger. Halving the recipe works too. Also, FYI-I'm no longer at the mercy of the banana! If you have bananas that aren't ripe enough to bake with, they can be put in the oven (at the lowest temp) for an hour or so and pull them out when black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is great. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. And used shaved semisweet chocolate instead of chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
By far the best banana bread ever! I love to add extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brownsugarnursecook
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe is very good and makes a huge batch! I used three loaf pans and still had some batter left over to put in another pan. My bananas were very ripe and sweet so I decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup. I also melted the chocolate chips in the microwave before adding them to the batter. It turned out great! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annieelias
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I find the chocolate a tiny bit overwhelming (maybe a tablespoon less next time) but the bread was amazing, sooo moist and full of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annieelias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My whole family loves it!! I thought I had all person flour on hand but it was actually bread flour. It made it very dense and cake like. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Chocolate always goes well with bananas. Moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I thought this tasted alright. It did seem more like a soft chocolate cake than banana bread tasting in taste or texture. However, I also made some changes to make it a based on what I had in the house. I made 1/2 recipe, used butter instead of margarine. Part oil would have been fine too. I had to sub non fat Greek plain yogurt for the sour cream and did 1/3 of the flour, or 1/2 cup, as white whole wheat. With a full cup of sugar, I opted to just sprinkle approximately 3 tablespoons of mini chocolate chips on top. To up the chocolate flavor I doubled the unsweet cocoa powder. It seemed like way too much batter for 1 loaf. So, I chose to make muffins. I got 18 muffins. They took 23 minutes to bake in a greased muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States