Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
(UPDATE 2008: Had a new idea for Thanksgiving, to use 3/4 cup canned pumpking in place of the bananas for a holiday treat. WOW...SUPERB!) I stumbled upon this recipe looking for a way (besides banana bread) to use overripe bananas. Instead of adding sliced bananas...I put mine in to blend with the egg/milk mixture. I just may never make banana bread again. What a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
great recipe. the bananas tasted weird though. i think i'll mash up ripe ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This was soo yummy. Really good for using up old bread and over ripe bananas. I doubled the amount of chocolate chips and used torn up cinnamon raisin bread and half a loaf of old french bread. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. I put this in a glass 9 X 13 at 325 and it only took 40 minutes to cook. Better than homemade oven fresh chocolate chip cookies. I will make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
This bread pudding is awesome! I used one of those 60% cocoa chocolate bars broken into pieces (less sugar and it was all I had) and it was great!!! I baked it for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
It's to die for pudding! Perfect combination of milk, french bread, banana and choc chips. I loved it so much that I had to make the second batch on the same day! Thanks for your sharing this. Please add to the last line that it will take 1 hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This was delicious! I added a few tbs. of melted butter to give it a nicely browned crust, and baked it in a 9 inch square pan. I recommend eating it slightly warm so the chips will be soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Lovely! I made this with chocolate bread. Adults ate it hot and children cold with vanilla ice-cream. To prove how well it went down with 3 very fussy small children (two 6 year-olds and one two year-old) they fought over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I've made this twice now. My kids won't eat bread crusts so I save them in the freezer until I have enough to make a bread pudding. We really like this one, especially with whipped cream. It's a pretty heavy dessert so don't serve it after a heavy supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I was looking for a way to use up over ripe bananas and some old bread. I am so glad I found this recipe. I'm watching fat and calories so I used egg substitute instead of whole eggs and skim milk and cut the sugar in half and only added a handful of chocolate chips. This turned out moist and delicious. It's one the whole family will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is my new favorite! I love bread pudding, and this one is the best I've ever had. So delicious and so simple. I did have to leave in the oven 20 mins. longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States