Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Omitted the sugar and added more chocolate chips. It turned out really watery, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Love it! I made a few changes. I didn't have cinnamon or nutmeg, so I used pumpkin pie spice instead. I cubed up a 12-pack of King's Hawaiian sweet rolls for the bread, and cut out the chocolate and sugar entirely. I mashed the bananas instead of slicing them. I used 5 eggs and 2.5 cups of milk with half a cup of heavy cream. I also didn't do the water bath. Paired with the whipped cream frosting by Tom Parker (which provided the perfect amount of extra sweetness) on this site, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Delicious... made exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skicassdiablo
Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The first time I made this I only had 3 eggs so I just used those. I also had Italian bread and more than 4 cups, maybe closer to 5-6 cups. I used a tablespoon measure for the vanilla but didn't fill it the whole way. I did the same thing with the sugar, I used just under a cup. I had dark chocolate chips left from another recipe and used what I had left, it was probably under a cup of chips. I also mashed the bananas and mixed them in the milk mixture. This is excellent the way I made it. Other reviews I read said the original recipe was too sweet and some didn't like the slices of banana due to the strong flavor of it when roasted. I appreciate the original recipe and give it 4 stars but the alterations I made based in other reviews ( and my lack of one egg! ) made this a 5 star recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I thought this came out pretty good, but H said it's ok. Will update after my mother tastes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was really yummy. You should mash the bananas, it makes the pudding moist and spreads the banana flavor. I used more chocolate chips then the recipe calls for and a added a hint of cinnamon powder. Also, I just placed the mixture in a glass dish and baked it for about 40 minutes, instead of following the recipe method for baking. I Had to stop myself from going back for another serving. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I'm sure this would have been better had I actually followed the directions, but I used whole grain bread and no added sugar. I also just eyeballed the bread instead of measuring it....which made it turn out dry. The taste was good, this will just teach me that measurements are there for a reason!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Mine had to bake a little longer, in a 355 degree oven, probably because mine is tiny and my roasting pan barely fits. I added 4 bananas instead of two because I love them, and I used 1/2 cup brown sugar for fuller flavour, but found it pretty sweet. I also used too many choc chips (I just used the rest of a partly used bag so I don't know how much I used). I also added a tablespoon of melted butter to the milk mixture, because I think butter flavour goes well with bananas. But, overall, a DELISH recipe, and I think I can do it better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaitlynChapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Made it without the bananas and it was wonderful! I added a warm vanilla sauce on top and my husband inhaled it! This is a for sure winner in our home and a great way to use any leftover bread instead of throwing it out. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
LOVE this recipe, especially with the modifications suggested by another reviewer: add cocoa to the mix, and toss the bread cubes with dry ingredients before adding the wet. Really tasty, moist, different dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States