Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This didn't come out well. The bread was tough and very chewy once completely cooled. I used mini chips and the chocolate took the flavor away from the bread and banana. I brought it over to a family gathering today, and only a few pieces was eaten. Won't dare make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Liked it but going to try traditional next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe. My daughter was a big fan. Did not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Lam
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Delicious! I made mine lighter so I could top it with a whipped topping. I cubed 3 slices of bread. I used 1/2 a cup of sugar and 3 eggs instead. I also added in 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. People said the chocolate chips all sunk to the bottom so I sprinkled the chocolate chips on top instead of mixing it in with the batter, and also topped mine with honey roasted almonds, it was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delish Bread Pudding - I used over ripe banana's that I had thrown in the freezer for baking and added chopped walnuts. Also half the amount of sugar made it just sweet enough. Followed baking directions, but used extra large muffin tins. Came out wonderful- cripsy top, with warm gooey chocolate throughout. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Let me start by saying I don't like bananas and I've never made bread pudding. In fact, the only bread pudding I've ever eaten is at Oaklawn Race Track in Hot Springs, Arkansas, which is famous for its bread pudding. The bar was set very high, needless to say.... This bread pudding turned out perfect. I made it exactly as written, except--as others suggested--I used 1/2 cup chocolate chips. It's February, and I'm already planning my Thanksgiving dinner around it. I also topped it with Creme Anglais, which was the perfect touch. UPDATE: Once I used the whole amount of chocolate chips and it ruined it. DON'T FORGET TO HALF THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Pretty good; I followed the advice of another review and layered the mixture, adding the chips on top of the layers. My family was not wild about this warm. I'll cool it in the fridge and see if it's better when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Awesome, first time ever making a bread pudding & it was out of this world good :-) definately will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very Nice..Good JOb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this on Valentine's Day for a quick, sinful treat and it was absolutely delicious! Crispy bread crust with a gooey, thick custardy filling packed with banana flavor and swirled with rich dark chocolate. Since it's just the two of us around here, I halved the recipe and baked in two 12 oz. ramekins. I baked in a water bath as instructed (be sure that the water you add is hot). This bread pudding turned out so gorgeous! The only thing I changed in the ingredients was to use only half the amount of chocolate chips indicated (which is not usual for a chocoholic like myself, but it looked like A LOT of chocolate for the size of the bread pudding). I mashed the bananas with the liquid ingredients and would recommend doing so. We LOVED the end result and there wasn't a morsel left. Thanks for this fantastic recipe! Will make it again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States