Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was a hit with my man and my friends when I made it a week ago. Based on others' reviews, I cut the sugar in half and added extra chocolate (hershey bar chunks). Great hot! Great cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Necessity, the Mother of invention! words to live by for me, lol! OK no chips so I had these Hershey individually wrapped dark chocolate ( about 1" sq)thins. I broke them into small pieces and added some coconut with them, unbelievable!! This takes this recipe from everyday to holiday dinner status. My hubby said I could sell this for $9.00 a pop at a fancy restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this recipe today because I had leftover hamburger buns and bananas that needed to be used. I loved it. I did alter it slightly, instead of chocolate chips I used chopped pecans and I also omitted half the sugar and it was more than enough. I will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Scott, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
this was so freakin' awesome!!! i added walnuts because i had them and needed to use them. it was seriously, so good!!! my hubby and kids loved it. it was demolished before i knew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Nice and easy recipe. Agree w/previous reviewer - ommitted the sugar and baked for 35 mins @350F. No water bath needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is even better the second day! It's great both warmed up or cold with a glass of milk. I made most of the changes as recommended by the reviews of others: left the sugar out (the over-ripe bananas and choc. chips made it plenty sweet), added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, included 4 mashed bananas with the milk/egg mixture and 1 sliced banana, increased choc. chips to 1-1/2 cups (layer some in the baking pan). I baked it in an 11x8 pan @350 for 45 minutes and it turned out perfect (no water bath). I also made it using a combo of whole wheat crusts and whole grain dinner rolls (and 1% milk). Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My family eat's this cold with a little dusting of powdered sugar over the top. I put the recipe in two loaf pans instead of one since I have an 8x4.75 loafs pans which I think is a more common size. I don't know if it makes a difference or not but my loaf pans are glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Stale french bread and overripe bananas at its finest! The banana and chocolate chips gave the bread pudding the pop it needed. All the chips sank to the bottom when added to the custard. I recommend just tossing it in at the end in between layers of bread/custard mixture. Also, I would try mashing extra slices of banana with the custard before adding the bread for more banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Tastes great! I decided to add an extra banana and threw in a few more chocolate chips than called for. I also baked in a pyrex bowl, rather than the loaf pan, for just shy of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
What an easy and flavorful bread pudding recipe. I had 2 extremely ripe bananas and used Hersey's Dark Chocolate chips to contrast the sweetness a little; I also scaled the recipe down to 6 servings (using the tool on Allrecipes) and only used 1/2 cup sugar not 3/4 cup, and baked it in a glass pie plate without the water bath at 350 for 30 minutes and it came out great, yet still very moist. I finished the pudding with a vanilla, cinnamon glaze...my roommate has already had 2 servings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States