Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I can't give this 5 stars because of two things: the amount of sugar (it does not actually need ANY sugar at all) and the baking instructions, which should have mentioned that the water for the water bath must be scalding hot, otherwise it'll take longer to cook. Those changes aside, this is a wonderful recipe. Lovely with a scoop of ice cream. One other minor issue is that the chocolate chips like to sink to the bottom. Next time I may put half the bread mixture into the pan, add a layer of chocolate chips, add the rest of the custard, then the rest of the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This was soo yummy. Really good for using up old bread and over ripe bananas. I doubled the amount of chocolate chips and used torn up cinnamon raisin bread and half a loaf of old french bread. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. I put this in a glass 9 X 13 at 325 and it only took 40 minutes to cook. Better than homemade oven fresh chocolate chip cookies. I will make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I thought the idea of chocolate banana bread pudding sounded great. Then I read the recipe and saw that there was only one measly cup of chocolate chips in the recipe. I searched further and found another recipe that was needlessly complicated, but it had one idea I liked, and that was to toss the dry bread cubes with 1/4 cup of melted butter, and then toss that with the 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup of cocoa. I increased the bread to 6 cups, and the milk to 3 cups. I added vanilla and one more banana, then baked this in a 9 by 9 baking pan for 35 minutes. It came out beautifully, rich and chocolaty, but not really too close to the original recipe. It needed way more chocolate to satisfy my craving. Oh, I also used one whole package of chocolate chips instead of one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I made this with no chocolate, the gnarly black bananas that I keep in my freezer for banana bread, the equally gnarly stale bread ends that I keep in my freezer for stuffing, lots of cinnamon/nutmeg/clove, and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of a cup of white. Breakfast of champions. Bet it'll be really good with maple syrup, like a banana pancake. (I wouldn't recommend syrup with the full amount of sugar though, it'd probably taste like a lollipop.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I, just like another reviewer, was trying to find an alternative to banana bread to use up some ripe bananas I had. I am really glad that I found this recipe. I added cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg which gave it depth and, although I am a huge chocolate fan, I would have preferred raisins to chocolate chips in this bread pudding. I also mashed up an extra banana in the egg and milk mixture. This made the pudding even moister and gave more banana flavor. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
It's to die for pudding! Perfect combination of milk, french bread, banana and choc chips. I loved it so much that I had to make the second batch on the same day! Thanks for your sharing this. Please add to the last line that it will take 1 hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
(UPDATE 2008: Had a new idea for Thanksgiving, to use 3/4 cup canned pumpking in place of the bananas for a holiday treat. WOW...SUPERB!) I stumbled upon this recipe looking for a way (besides banana bread) to use overripe bananas. Instead of adding sliced bananas...I put mine in to blend with the egg/milk mixture. I just may never make banana bread again. What a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I made this last night for 4 people (half quantities). It's good - but very filling, so small portions are advised. I really got 5 servings out of it. I cut the sugar down too from 1/2 cup to 1/3 and it was still very sweet. Next time I'd use less sugar still. It's very quick to prepare - about 10mins tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
great recipe. the bananas tasted weird though. i think i'll mash up ripe ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this on Valentine's Day for a quick, sinful treat and it was absolutely delicious! Crispy bread crust with a gooey, thick custardy filling packed with banana flavor and swirled with rich dark chocolate. Since it's just the two of us around here, I halved the recipe and baked in two 12 oz. ramekins. I baked in a water bath as instructed (be sure that the water you add is hot). This bread pudding turned out so gorgeous! The only thing I changed in the ingredients was to use only half the amount of chocolate chips indicated (which is not usual for a chocoholic like myself, but it looked like A LOT of chocolate for the size of the bread pudding). I mashed the bananas with the liquid ingredients and would recommend doing so. We LOVED the end result and there wasn't a morsel left. Thanks for this fantastic recipe! Will make it again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States